	CO Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards 
	(COMPS) Order #36 	

What is the COMPS order?  
· The COMPS order is an updated version of Colorado Division of Labor and Employment’s (CDLE) annually issued minimum wage order.  It is a source of 
· Critical Colorado wage rights and responsibilities beyond those provided by federal law
· Eligibility for the Colorado minimum wage
· Overtime pay for work past 40 hours per week and 12 hours per day
· Meal and rest breaks
· And other employee and employer rights and responsibilities, such as what wage deductions are permissible, and how hourly rates are calculated from non-hourly pay for overtime
How does it affect contractors? 
There are two ways that contractors are affected:
1)  In the past, construction was not a covered area of the Colorado minimum pay standards.  Now it is.  
2)  In the past, there was no minimum wage for OT after 12 hours per day.  Now there is.  
What are the new rules?  
The CO minimum wage is $12.00 per hour.  The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.  The Denver (county) minimum wage is $12.85 per hour. Just like at CDOT, if work is covered by multiple minimum or overtime wage rules, the rule with the higher wage or standard applies. This minimum wage applies to all adults and emancipated minors whether they are paid hourly or on another basis (unless exempted from the COMPS law.) 
Overtime: 1½ times the regular pay rate for hours over: 
· 40 weekly, 
· 12 daily, or 
· 12 consecutive (think night shift when time crosses two different days)
Have the changes been updated in LCPtracker?  
Yes.  It went into effect this month (August of 2020).  The first two (40 hours weekly and 12 daily) are automatic checks.  The last one, 12 consecutive, is a manual check to be performed when checking payroll.  
Are there associated posters that must be referenced for a job? 
Yes.  They have been updated on our CDOT website. 
When did this go into effect?  
[bookmark: _GoBack]The law went into effect in March. The information about this law will be posted on the CDOT website.  
Where can I find more information about this new law?  
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdle/adopted-rule-colorado-overtime-minimum-pay-standards-comps-order-36
