
Are chains required for trailers? No.

Must hazardous material tankers and 
transporters comply with the chain 
law? Yes. Vehicles placarded for 
hazardous loads may pass the chain-
up signs and install chains where 
pavement is covered by snow or  
ice, at a safe location outside the 
traveled portion of the highway.

When can chains be removed? Call 
511 for current chain law status. 
The chain law will cease where 
bare descending pavement is  
encountered, and when electronic 
signs no longer display ‘chain law  
in effect.’

Where are chain-up stations? 
I-70 Eastbound: Mileposts 178, 183, 
184 (shoulder), 187 (shoulder), 195, 
203 (scenic area), 205, 219, 228, 
241, 251, 289, 343  
I-70 Westbound: Mileposts 358, 
263, 260, 254 (Buffalo Overlook), 
228, 223, 221, 219, 213, 197, 179  
I-25 Northbound: Milepost 159
I-25 Southbound: Milepost 172

What are the fines for violations?
The fine for not carrying chains on 
I-70 between mileposts 133–259 
from Sept. 1–May 31 is $50 plus a 
$17 surcharge. Statewide, the fine 
for not chaining up when the chain 
law is in effect is $500 plus a $79 
surcharge. The fine for blocking a 
highway as a result of not chaining 
up is $1,000 plus a $157 surcharge.  

Frequently Asked Questions

CARRYING CHAINS ON I-70: Commercial vehicles driving on I-70 between 
mileposts 133 (Dotsero) and 259 (Morrison) from Sept. 1–May 31 must 
carry sufficient chains at all times to be in compliance with the Colorado 
chain law. This is the only area in Colorado in which chains must be  
carried during the specified season. (Effective March 1, 2009)

DEFINITIONS: Under the Colorado chain law, a commercial vehicle is 
defined as being used in commerce to transport passengers or property 
and fitting into one of the following categories:	 

 Has a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 or more lbs. inclusive 	
	 of a towed unit which has a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 		
	 10,000 lbs.

 Has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more lbs. 	
 Is designed to carry 16 or more passengers, including the driver.

CHAIN LAW LEVEL 1/CODE 17: All single drive axle combination commer-
cial vehicles must chain all four drive wheels; cables are not permitted as 
ATDs. All other commercial vehicles must have snow tires or chains. Level 
1/Code 17 may be implemented any time there is snow covering any part 
of the traveled portion of pavement on an ascending grade.

CHAIN LAW LEVEL 2/CODE 18: All commercial vehicles must chain up. 
Single drive axle combination and tandem drive axle commercial vehicles 
must chain four drive wheels. Autotransports must comply to the extent 
possible without causing damage to hydraulic lines. Buses must chain 
two drive wheels to comply. Level 2/Code 18 may be implemented any 
time there is snow covering the entire traveled portion of pavement on 
an ascending grade, or when driving conditions dictate that this level is 
necessary to protect safety and to minimize road closures.

NOTIFICATION: When the chain law is in effect, drivers will be notified by 
the following means: electronic message signs; 511 traveler information; 
www.cotrip.org; and media outlets.  

CHAINING UP: Metal chains must consist of two circular metal loops, one 
on each side of the tire, connected by not less than nine evenly-spaced 
chain loops across the tread. Commercial vehicles that have four or more 
drive wheels must chain four wheels. Dual tire chains are acceptable.

ALTERNATE TRACTION DEVICES (ATDs): Approved ATDs in Colorado are 
wheel sanders, which must carry enough sand to get the vehicle through 
the restricted area; pneumatically driven chains, which spin under the 
drive wheels automatically as traction is lost; and textile traction device 
(TTD), a fabric boot which encompasses the tire. Currently, the only TTD 
that has been approved for use on Colorado state highways is the AutoSock.

TIRE CABLES: Colorado chain law rules permit tire cables as alternate 
traction devices in these two situations: 1) tire cables with high strength 
steel cross member rollers 0.415” or greater in diameter, which can be 
used on all commercial vehicles except single drive axle combinations; 
and 2) on a tandem power drive axle commercial vehicle, where any  
type of cable can be used only if there are chains on the two outside  
tires of one of the power drive axles and cables on two or more tires  
of the other power drive axle.
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