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Roadside Memorial Signage Program Criteria 
 

A sign must be requested by the victim’s family or 
sponsor with the consent of the victim’s family. 
 
Signs may only be installed on State highways.  
Signs installed on State highways within a city or 
town require local government approval. 
 
No sign shall be installed on Interstate highways 
(ie. I-25, I-70 etc).  An alternative sign location for 
interstate fatalities may be considered on a State 
highway near the crash location. 
 
Applicant shall pay CDOT $100 to partially cover 
fabrication, installation, maintenance and removal 
costs.  Up to three names may be included on one 
sign with multiple victims.  Payment is due after 
CDOT approves the application. 
 
CDOT will fabricate, install and maintain the sign 
for six years from the date of initial installation.   
 

CDOT will return sign to the family after six years. 
 
ADDITIONAL SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 
“DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE” SIGNS FOR FATAL 
ALCOHOL/DRUG (DUI) RELATED CRASHES  
There must be a conviction of the driver involved in 
a fatal crash who was in violation of Colorado DUI 
laws, or a toxicology report must show the victim 
driver to have been in violation of Colorado’s DUI 
laws and only with the permission of the crash 
victim’s family members.. 
 
Program information is available online at 
www.DOT.State.CO.US/Safety/ or from the 
     Colorado Department of Transportation 
     Safety and Traffic Engineering Branch 
     4201 East Arkansas Avenue 
     Denver, Colorado  80222 
or by calling CDOT at (303) 757-9662  
or by calling MADD at (303) 425-5905 
e-mail   Roadside.Memorial@DOT.State.CO.US  

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

ROADSIDE MEMORIAL SIGN APPLICATION           Please fill in on-line and print        
Name of person or group applying for sign: 

 
Daytime phone number: E-mail address: 

Mailing address:                                                                  City:                                                      State:               Zip code: 
 
              

Date of fatal crash: 

 
Location of crash (State Highway and Milepost if known): County:  

Victim’s name(s) (as they should appear on the sign) 

1  _______________________________ 
2  _______________________________ 
3  _______________________________ 

Victim’s name(s) (as they appear on the accident report 

1  _______________________________ 
2  _______________________________ 
3  _______________________________ 

Investigating law enforcement agency: 

 
Name of the driver on the accident report: 

Roadside Memorial Sign message to be included on the sign (please choose one):  

           DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE (Note specific requirements above) 

              PLEASE DRIVE SAFELY   (for any fatalities) 

           PLEASE RIDE SAFELY   (for motorcycle/bicycle fatalities) 

           PLEASE BUCKLE UP   (for fatalities where victim was not wearing a seat belt)  
Preferred sign location  (please choose one):

           LOCATION AS SHOWN ON THE ACCIDENT REPORT   (provided by CDOT) 

           LOCATION AS SHOWN ON THE ATTACHED SKETCH  (provided by applicant) 
Victim’s immediate family signature(s): 

 
Applicant signature: 

 

 
Date: 

 

NOTE: Applicant will be required to remit a check, payable to the Colorado Department of Transportation in the 
amount of $100, once sign application is approved.  Please keep CDOT informed of any change of address. 

                                                                                  CDOT FORM #1314     02/09

  
             


	APPLICANT NAME: 
	APPLICANT DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER: 
	APPLICANT E-MAIL ADDRESS: 
	APPLICANT MAILING ADDRESS: 
	CITY: 
	Text7: 
	ZIPCODE: 
	LOCATION OF FATAL CRASH: 
	COUNTY: 
	FIRST VICTIM NAME: 
	SECOND VICTIM NAME: 
	THIRD VICTIM NAME: 
	INVESTIGATING AGENCY: 
	DRIVER NAME: 
	TODAYS DATE MM/DD/YY: 
	DATE OF FATAL CRASH MM/DD/YY: 
	Button1: Off
	Button2: Off
	E-Mail_Form: 


