CDOT – Teen Driving

Content/Visuals for Parent Section of COTeenDriver.com

November 16, 2009 (v.3)

Please note:

· Instructions for programming are in blue italics (this blue text should not be added to the website)
· PDFs and photos are provided separately, accompanying this document

· Items that are awaiting finalization are highlighted in pink
· Styles and font treatments reflect current styles as indicated on coloradodot.info.  This should help streamline the upload of content.

· Add Teens Click Here box to side bar

· Update Tool Kit on new CDOT site to reflect latest revisions (“old” CDOT site had the latest changes)

· Amelie will provide web banners for the Did You Know boxes, which we would like to be placed to the right side of the page, and will change depending on each page (coming week of 11/16)

· Any questions?  Feel free to contact me!
QUICK LINKS (Edits for Quick Links menu bar)
Home Page 

Driver Education 

Steps to Obtain a License

Teen Driving Restrictions 

Fines and Points 

Tips for Parents (three sections:  Teaching Your Teen, Top Tips from Driving Schools, Parenting Advice)

Parent/Teen Driving Contract 

Additional Resources and Contacts 

Test Yourself!  Are you ready to put your teen in the driver’s seat?

High School Tool Kit (link to Tool Kit page)(Keep Tool Kit button on right)
Teens – Click here! (link to coteendriver.com – coming soon!  For now, just link to Teen section)(we’ll also have a button on the right for teens)
PAGE – HOME PAGE – WELCOME PARENTS
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Welcome Parents!
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What’s your role for your teen driver? 
When your teen is in the driver’s seat, you’re far more than just a passenger.  Your job is to steer your teen into a lifetime of safe driving. As a team, the two of you can navigate Colorado’s laws and safety guidelines. 

What you should do:

· Learn Colorado’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws.

· Enroll your teen in driver education.

· Supervise your teen’s driving.

· Set family rules and limits by creating a Parent/Teen Driving Contract
.

· Impose consequences for violations.

What is GDL?

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws help teenagers gain important driving skills gradually while limiting dangers by restricting the number of passengers, banning cell phone use and setting a curfew. 



Encouraging news – GDL works…
Insert cdot_GDL_chart file

…Yet…alarming stats on teen driving

· Teens are less likely than adults to understand the risks of driving because they lack experience. Their brains are still developing, affecting judgment while driving.

· Sixteen-year-old drivers have the highest crash involvement rate of any age group in Colorado and are nearly three times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash than the average of all other drivers.

· Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for young adults aged 15-20.
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Driver’s Ed—Don’t Take Shortcuts:
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When it comes to driving, experts recommend exposing your teen to as much training as possible. 
Driver’s education course – A state-approved, 30-hour classroom, Internet or home study course.

Driver awareness program – A state-approved 4-hour safety education class.

Behind-the-wheel training – A 6-hour vehicle course with a driving instructor.

For a list of state-approved driving schools, visit the website for the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles website. 
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Steps Your Teen Must Take to Obtain a License

[image: image7..pict]
The steps needed to obtain a license depend on your teen’s age when starting the GDL process.

Insert Steps to License PDF

NOTE:  Amelie to provide  “Steps To Getting A License” functionality in mid-Nov. 
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Teen Driving Restrictions

The rules of the road apply to drivers of all ages, but there are certain additional restrictions that all teen drivers need to know.

Passenger restrictions

Teens with a permit:

No passengers other than a driving instructor, parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult 21 years of age or older (authorized by parent/guardian).

Teens with a license:

· For the first six months, no passengers under 21, unless a parent or other licensed adult driver is in the vehicle. 

· For the next six months, one passenger under age 21 (unsupervised).

· Siblings and passengers with medical emergencies are exceptions.

· At any time, no more than one passenger is allowed in the front seat.

Mandatory seat belts

By law, ALL teen drivers and passengers must wear seat belts (no sharing!). 

NEW LAW!  EFFECTIVE DEC. 1, 2009:  

Cell phones and texting banned

Teens under age 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving.  Teens can be fined and may risk losing their license.  Exceptions include emergency calls to the police or fire department.

Curfew

For the first year as a licensed driver, your teen must abide by a curfew—no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or legal guardian. Exceptions include: driving to/from school/work (signed statement from school/work required), medical emergencies and emancipated minors.  

Curfew laws may vary by city or county.  To properly follow the curfew in your area, please confirm restrictions with your local government.

Zero tolerance for drunk driving

Eight young people die every day in the U.S. in alcohol-related crashes.  Talk with your teen about the dangers of driving drunk or riding with someone who has used alcohol or drugs. Driving under the influence of alcohol—even a trace of alcohol on minor drivers—is punishable by law. 

For a refresher on all traffic laws, review the Colorado Department of Revenue's Drivers Handbook.
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Fines and Points


The last thing your teen wants is to lose her newly acquired driving privileges. Insist that she understand all the nuances of traffic laws—including GDL restrictions. Violating any one of these can result in a revoked license and lost driving freedom. 

· Each violation costs two points.

· It takes only three violations (six points) through age 18 for a license suspension. 

· Violations often carry steep fines and include community service.

Penalties for seat belt, curfew and passenger restriction violations:

Insert Fines & Points PDF

Penalties for cell phone ban violation:
For violating the no talk/text law, teens can be fined 1 point off their license and a $57 fine for the 1st offense, and $107 for subsequent offenses.
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Teaching Your Teen – Tips for Parents of New Drivers

Your teen’s first few experiences behind the wheel will help set her foundation for safe driving habits into the future.  As a parent, your role is to support your teen as she learns the rules of the road.  It is also important that you recognize that some driving guidelines and laws have changed since you learned to drive. For example, “10 & 2” are no longer recommended hand positions on the steering wheel (it’s now “9 & 3”).  Share in the driver education experience with your teen by learning from the professional driving instructors.

Be a good role model.

Your teen may not admit it, but he is watching you when you drive and learning by your example. That’s why it is so important to practice what you preach by buckling up, putting down your cell phone and not driving aggressively.

Get in the mood.

Only practice when you are both ready, in good moods and have plenty of time.

Start simple.

Learning to drive can be overwhelming - for your teen and for you. Begin with the basics, such as turning, parking and backing up. Then move on to more advanced skills including merging, changing lanes and parallel parking.

Start sunny.

Begin practicing during the day, in good weather. As your teen improves, gradually start driving during different driving conditions, including different times of day, in a variety of weather conditions and on all road surfaces.

Don't rush into rush hour.

Start with safe, low-risk driving conditions, such as empty parking lots and quiet rural roads. Gradually progress to neighborhood streets with little traffic, then busier roads and highways.

Take deep breaths.

Remember, new drivers need a lot of practice. Making mistakes is part of learning. Remain calm and focused. Teens will show the greatest improvement in the first 1,000 to 5,000 miles of driving.

PAGE – TIPS FOR PARENTS, PART II
Top Tips from Driving Schools

What do the professional instructors recommend for new drivers?  Read on to find some tips that you may find helpful while you are logging drive time with your teen.
“Pre-flight” check:

· Adjust mirrors and seats before turning on the vehicle.

· Turn on your headlights, day and night, for safety.

· Limit distractions by turning phone off and radio down. 

· When backing up, do not rely on the rear view mirror. Always turn and look directly behind you. Check all directions before proceeding.

Stopping and safe distances:

· Stop completely at stop signs and red lights. Brake smoothly—avoid slamming on the brakes. 

· Stop far enough back that you can see the tires of the vehicle in front of you. 

· When proceeding, look left, right, straight ahead, then left again before moving.

· Remain 15 feet away from trucks on all sides. If you can't see truck drivers in their mirrors, they can't see you either.

How fast is too fast?

· Don't exceed the speed limit. The chance of death or serious injury doubles for every 10 miles per hour over 50 mph that a vehicle travels. 

· At high speeds, turning too quickly or braking too sharply can result in an out-of-control vehicle. 

· Speed increases braking distance: If you double your speed, quadruple your braking distance. 

· At high speeds, the amount of time available to detect and react to unexpected events is shortened.

Driving distractions:

Driving while distracted is hazardous for everyone, especially inexperienced drivers. Trying to dip your fries in ketchup while navigating traffic is not such a good idea. Other common distractions:

· Chatting with other passengers

· Drinking and eating

· Selecting music from CD or iPod

· Applying makeup

· Reading directions or a map

· Using a cell phone (texting and talking are illegal in CO if you’re under 18) 

Night Driving:

Before driving unsupervised at night, you should have several months of daytime driving experience and extensive supervised practice driving at night. What’s the difference? At night:

· It's harder to see.

· Distance and speed are harder to judge.

· More impaired and unsafe drivers are on the road.

Remember—Colorado has a midnight and 5:00 a.m. curfew for teens. 

CHILL in Winter and Wet Conditions:

Words of advice for driving during a Colorado winter (or any season for that matter!): Slow down.

Rain, snow and ice make it more difficult to start, stop and turn. Even small amounts of precipitation make roads slippery. Plus, rain, fog, snow and sun glare make it more difficult to see. So if it's wet, snowy or icy—chill. Some quick tips:

· Maintain traction – start and stop gradually and drive at steady speeds.

· Skids – if your vehicle begins to skid, remove your foot from the accelerator or brake and steer in the direction of the skid.

· Braking – gently brake during slippery road conditions. Avoid braking on curves by driving through them at a safe, steady speed. Gear down when going uphill or downhill.

For more on driving in wet or snowy conditions, download CDOT’s Slick Tips brochure.
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Parenting Advice  

Studies show that when parents set limits and closely monitor teen drivers during their first year behind the wheel, they are more likely to buckle up and less likely to speed.

It’s about safety, not control

Make sure they understand that the rules are for their safety. As their skills develop and they become more responsible, introduce new privileges.

Require a full report

Know where your teen is going and why. Discuss how she’ll get there, who will be riding with her, and when she will be home.  Ask these simple questions:

   1. Where are you going?

   2. Who will your passengers be? (If allowed by GDL)

   3. When will you return?

   4. What is the weather expected to be like?

   5. What route will you take?

Purposeful driving

Purposeful driving is driving for a reason to a specific destination. Teen driving is most dangerous when done without a specific purpose or destination.

Limit distractions

Remind your teen that using a cell phone while driving is illegal and dangerous. Prohibit other distractions including eating and drinking, smoking, adjusting the radio/CD or MP3 player and passenger “horseplay.”

Also, remind your teen that driving while tired or emotional can be dangerous for them and others on the road.

Nighttime driving

Most crashes happen after 9 p.m. so consider setting an earlier driving curfew. Gradually increase the curfew after practicing driving at night with your teen. Remember, Colorado has a midnight curfew for licensed teens during their first year.

Talk with your teen

Keep the lines of communication open so your teen feels comfortable talking with you. This builds trust and respect.

Create a Parent/Teen Driving Contract

By creating a Parent/Teen Driving Contract, you are actively engaged in keeping your teen safe behind the wheel.  Click here to download a contract
.

PAGE – PARENT/TEEN DRIVING CONTRACT


The Parent/Teen Driving Contract

By creating a Parent/Teen Driving Contract, you are actively engaged in keeping your teen safe behind the wheel.

The contract on this site can guide you and your teen in creating a mutual understanding of the rules and consequences of breaking them.  For advise about how to encourage safe driving for your teen, click here.  

Parent/Teen Driving Contract

[image: image1.png]Parent/Teen Driving Contract

CR————"
-
P [—————
[ —— oo
B o
[
et e e el T
L SR D T S S | o
P ——— I
gty .
B
BSOS e o
Per— -
Sattmmeize .
[ —————





PAGE – ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Teen Driving Resources

 

Colorado specific

Colorado State Patrol
Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Safe driving

AAA
The American Automobile Association site offers information about learning and teaching safe driving, selecting a car for a teen driver, GDL, stats and much more, including lots of links.

Alive at 25
Alive at 25 is a survival course developed by the National Safety Council to prevent traffic fatalities, collisions and violations. Their site has facts about teen driving and links to other relevant organizations as well as information about their own program.

Century Council



The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Douglas County Youth Initiative – Teen Driving Issue Team 

DriveSmart Colorado
National Safety Council
The National Safety Council serves as a clearinghouse of information and materials about safety belt usage as well as useful materials, ideas, speakers and technical assistance.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Extensive research and statistics about safe driving.

Teen Sharp 

Teen Motor Vehicle Leadership Alliance (pdf) 

The Teen Motor Vehicle Leadership Alliance is an interagency statewide coalition of champions that acts on reducing teen motor vehicle crashes and improving teen motor vehicle safety. Contact the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment, 303-692-2590. Click on the link above for a listing of participants. 

Insurance

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
Research about teen driving and safety, brochures and videos available, including "Young Drivers: The High Risk Years," as well as international links.

O'Grady Insurance Group 

Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association
Guide to understanding insurance, including info about shopping for teen insurance. Links to safe driving and other relevant sites along with how to order "fatal vision" goggles that demonstrate effects of driving while intoxicated.

Downloads

Drive Time Log – English (Link to DR2324 Drive Time Log Sheet)

Drive Time Log – Spanish (Link to DR2324 Drive Time Log Spanish)

Contract – English (Link to Parent/Teen Contract)
Contract – Spanish

Parent Brochure in English

Parent Brochure in Spanish

Teen Brochure (English)


More questions?  Contact us! 

Colorado Department of Transportation

Public Relations Office

303-757-9484

Heather.Halpape@dot.state.co.us
Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment

lindsey.myers@state.co.us
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Test Yourself!  Are You Ready To Put Your Teen In The Driver’s Seat?

Quiz function for parents 
DID YOU KNOW?


Teens face the greatest risk of crashing during the first year of their license. One out of every five licensed 16-year-olds will be in a motor vehicle crash.








DID YOU KNOW?


Let your insurance company know that your teen is starting to drive and ask about special programs available to encourage safe driving.








DID YOU KNOW?


For 16–17 year olds, carrying just one passenger increases the crash risk by about 50 percent.








DID YOU KNOW?


Under Colorado law, parents can have their teen’s license revoked.





GREAT RESOURCE!


Great Resource for Parents – Check out � HYPERLINK "http://parentingmyteendriver.org/expectedbumps.html" ��ParentingMyTeenDriver.org� for useful parenting tips for your teen driver.








DID YOU KNOW?


Parents can cut their teen driver’s crash risk in half if they set driving rules and monitor them in a supportive, non-controlling way.








DID YOU KNOW?


Studies show that teens who take professional behind-the-wheel training make safer drivers.








DID YOU KNOW?


Driving at night increases the likelihood and severity of crashes. The risk of being in a fatal crash is highest for teens between 9 p.m. and 6 a.m.





DID YOU KNOW?


Consistent use of seat belts by parents has been shown to be the single biggest influence of a teen’s likelihood to wear seat belts.








�Link to Parent/Teen Driving Contract


�HH – Do you have the info. with the history of GDL that you wanted added here?





�If this photo is acceptable, we can purchase it for you with the credits you have on istock. (note:  this is the same image used for the teen brochure)


�Link to Contract page of this site.





�Link to Parenting Advice page


�Link text and thumbnail image to download of PDF of Parent/Teen Contract


�HH – Do you have a description for the links that are missing descriptions?


�New PDF – what is the TMVLA, what do they do??  Can we get this from Lindsey.


�Still finalizing, will send final PDFs week of 11/16





