
Safety & Toll Enforcement Program (STEP)
Proposed Business Rules Revisions



Staff Proposal

• Add threshold(s) to business rules related to DMV Holds and Hot List
• Minimum number of unpaid Notices of Civil Penalty (NOCP)
• Minimum number of days NOCP is overdue 
• Minimum dollar amount owed
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Escalation Timeframe of a Civil Penalty
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Violation Captured Notice of 
Civil Penalty

20 Days
$75

21 – 44 Days 
$150

Default
$180 @ 45 -

120 Days

≥121 Days 
Collections 
& DMV Hold



Original Business Rules 
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BR Description

O10 Any Notice that is past due after a Hearing Officer Final Order of liability (30 days) will be sent to 
collections by the Vendor.

O20 Any license plate that has excessive Notices shall be sent to DMV hold if the following criteria 
has been met:
• Notice is 45 days or more past the due date e.g., liable by default for not scheduling or 

appearing to a hearing; or
• Past due the final order of liability date by decision of a hearing officer, over 30 days, that has 

not been appealed at the county court or
• past due the court order decision of “liable” over the period specified by the county court.

030 Any orphan license plate (a name and address could not be obtained for) that has Excessive 
Violations should be placed on the HOT list (for law enforcement); maintained by the Roadside 
System Vendor.

Section O - Notice Non-Payment Rules (Collections, Hot List and DMV Hold)



Proposed Business Rules – Collections Activity
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BR Description

O10 Any Notice that is past due after a Hearing Officer Final Order of liability (30 days) will be sent to collections by the Vendor.

Threshold Currently Defined As Staff Recommendation

“Any”

License plates from any state License plates from any state

No minimum number of unpaid Notices No minimum number of unpaid Notices

No minimum amount due No minimum amount due



Proposed Business Rules - DMV Hold
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BR Description

O20 Any license plate that has excessive Notices shall be sent to DMV hold if the following criteria 
has been met:
• Notice is 45 days or more past the due date e.g., liable by default for not scheduling or 

appearing to a hearing; or
• Past due the final order of liability date by decision of a hearing officer, over 30 days, that has 

not been appealed at the county court or
• Past due the court order decision of “liable” over the period specified by the county court.

Threshold Currently Defined As Staff Recommendation

“Any” All Colorado license plates All Colorado Plates

“Excessive”
No minimum number of unpaid Notices 5 or more unpaid Notices

No minimum amount due $900 or more owed



Proposed Business Rules - DMV Hold Continued
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BR Description

O20 Any license plate that has excessive Notices shall be sent to DMV hold if the following criteria has been 
met:
• Notice is 45 days or more past the due date e.g., liable by default for not scheduling or appearing to 

a hearing; or
• Past due the final order of liability date by decision of a hearing officer, over 30 days, that has not 

been appealed at the county court or
• Past due the court order decision of “liable” over the period specified by the county court.

Threshold Currently Defined As Staff Recommendation

“Past Due” 
Hearing Officer 

Final Order

Over 30 days from date of decision 
by a hearing officer.

120 days or more past due after a Hearing Officer 
Final Order of liability and no county court appeal has 
been filed.

“Past Due” Court 
of Appeals 
Judgement

Past due the court order decision 
of “liable” over the period 
specified by the county court.

Payment is 60 days or more past due after a court 
Judgment is entered against the ROV. The date the 
Judgment is entered is the date from which the 60 
days commences. 



Proposed Business Rules – Orphan License Plates
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BR Description

O30 Any orphan license plate (a name and address could not be obtained for) that has Excessive 
Violations should be placed on the HOT list (for law enforcement); maintained by the Roadside 
System Vendor.

Threshold Currently Defined As Staff Recommendation

“Any” License plates from any state
• Colorado license plates
• Sovereign citizen license plates
• No state

“Excessive”
No minimum number of unpaid Notices 5 or more unpaid Notices

No minimum amount due $900 or more owed



Next Steps

• Update Section O - Notice Non-Payment Rules (Hot List and DMV Hold) Business 
Rules per Board comments

• Pending B.O.D. Comments, Staff will take steps towards implementation
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Questions?
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