

GENERAL ASSEMBLY STATE OF COLORADO State Capitol Denver, 80203

RTD Board of Directors 1660 Blake Street Denver, CO 80202

June 2, 2025

Dear Directors of the RTD Board,

We are writing to express our strong support for continued investment in safe and reliable transit across the State and the Denver Metro area, and to urge timely action to establish passenger rail service from Denver to Fort Collins.

In recent years, the General Assembly has taken significant steps to bolster transit infrastructure, creating new and sustained revenue streams to support the expansion of transit, an essential strategy for achieving Colorado's climate goals. With these new revenue streams, the State can partner with local transit agencies to achieve our mutual goals of providing safe, reliable transit to Coloradans and improving the region's air quality.

New state transit funding was established in SB21-260 and is generating \$59 million over five years to help public transit agencies transition to low- and zero-emission fleets. In particular, the State welcomes a partnership with RTD and local transit agencies to transition to low-emission fleets. More recently, SB24-230, created a new fee on oil and gas extraction that may provide an estimated \$50 million annually to RTD, designed to incentivize expanded transit service for either new service or newly increased frequencies of existing routes. This legislation also includes an additional dedicated 20% set aside, estimated to be \$20 million annually to support the completion of the Northwest Rail in the form of joint service and N Line corridor.

Additional transit support came with SB24-184, which directed RTD to prioritize the completion of passenger rail on the Northwest Rail and N Line. This bill also created a sustainable revenue stream of approximately \$60 million annually for state-sponsored rail service, initially focused on establishing passenger rail on the NW line and Mountain Rail. SB24-184 clearly established legislative intent to deliver passenger rail service through collaboration between RTD, the State, and FRPR to ensure efficient use of taxpayer and fee payer monies by having one operator and one access agreement to deliver this service. We were pleased to receive the March 1 report on joint service, which concluded that there are sufficient existing resources to commence service by January 2029.

Moreover, SB25-161 builds on these commitments, aligning RTD's planning with State climate goals, promoting budget transparency, and reinforcing the State's priority to complete unfinished FasTracks projects. It also calls for a comprehensive study of debt service and Certificates of Participation (COPs),

and mandates robust public engagement in communities awaiting the delivery of unfinished FasTracks projects.

We understand that all governing boards are considering entering into an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) with CDOT, CTE, CTIO, FRPR, and the Governor's Office to begin initial negotiations with BNSF to obtain a verified infrastructure list and access agreement. We view adoption of the IGA as a critical first step in forming a unified governing body that can establish a single operator and negotiate a unified access agreement with BNSF. This collaboration is vital to obtain necessary information on costs, terms, and access conditions. We strongly support this effort, as such interagency partnerships are essential to achieving efficiencies and delivering on the promises of expanded passenger rail.

We urge you to move forward with the IGA and take all necessary actions to advance joint service along the Northern Front Range, from Denver to Longmont, and now Fort Collins, with the goal of initiating service by January 1, 2029, as outlined in SB24-184.

The General Assembly stands ready to continue partnering with RTD and FRPR to deliver on the long-standing vision of providing fast, clean, and reliable rail service to the people of Colorado, who have long invested in this future.

Sincerely,

Senator Judy Amabile Senate District 18

Representative Andrew Boesenecker House District 53

Ma

Representative Kyle Brown House District 12



Representative Junie Joseph House District 10

Representative William Lindstedt House District 33

Senator Janice Marchman Senate District 15

wer M Cormick

Representative Karen McCormick House District 11

Jelen K. Smith

Representative Lesley Smith House District 49

Senator Katie Wallace Senate District 17

Senator Faith Winter Senate District 25

Hon. Stephen Fenberg Former President of the Senate