Colorado's Vehicle Inspection and Emissions Control Programs

The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s Air Division administers the state’s air quality programs, including transportation related programs. Due to ongoing elevated ozone levels and failure to meet the ozone NAAQS, motor vehicles in the Denver metropolitan and North Front Range area (Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson counties, and parts of Adams, Arapahoe, Larimer, and Weld counties) must meet emission standards. Vehicles older than 7 years are required to pass periodic emissions testing. For information on the vehicle emissions inspection program, and the state’s diesel emissions control program for diesel fleets, see CDPHE's Motor Vehicle Emissions website.

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal