

## **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS**

970 453 3414 ph | 970 453 3535 f summitcountyco.gov

208 East Lincoln Ave. | PO Box 68 Breckenridge, Colorado 80424

October 26, 2023

To: Transportation Planning Region Boundary Study Advisory Committee

Transportation Commission of Colorado

Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee

Cc: Shoshana Lew, Director, Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT)

Subj: Support to split current Intermountain Transportation Planning Region (IMTPR)

Dear Commissioners and Committee Members,

We offer this letter of strong support to split the current IMTPR as voted on during the IMTPR meeting in the Town of Eagle on October 6, 2023. Specifically, the majority of the IMTPR members voted to split and create two Transportation Planning Regions (TPR): 1) Summit County, Lake County, and partial Eagle County, and 2) Garfield County, Pitkin County, and partial Eagle County. Although, the dividing line in Eagle County has not yet been determined.

After listening to the presentation provided by CDOT staff, and analyzing the data presented, we agree that realignment of existing boundaries makes sense and is better representative of our rural mountain communities. One point made by the CDOT staff that stood out to us is that the current size of the IMTPR – particularly the population, projected population, and vehicle miles traveled – suggests that the IMTPR is outgrowing rural status. Splitting the IMTPR, while perhaps adjusting other rural TPR boundaries, will ensure the requisite number of rural and metropolitan transportation planning organizations are maintained as stipulated by HB23-1101.

Again, Summit County Government enthusiastically supports CDOT's recommendation to split the IMTPR as the IMTPR members voted on October 6, 2023.

Sincerely,

**Summit County Commissioner** 

Tamara Pogue

**Summit County Commissioner** 

Christina Waters

**Summit County Commissioner**