

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF RIO BLANCO COUNTY, COLORADO RIO BLANCO COUNTY HISTORIC COURTHOUSE 555 MAIN STREET, P.O. BOX 599 MEEKER, COLORADO 81641 970-878-9430

September 12, 2023

Transportation Planning Region Boundary Study Advisory Committee Members Transportation Commissioners Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee Members CC: Shoshana Lew, CDOT Executive Director

Subject: Adamant Opposition to Modifications of TPR/MPO Boundaries in CDOT Region 3

Dear Transportation Planning Region Boundary Study Advisory Committee Members, Transportation Commissioners and Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee Members,

The Board of County Commissioners of Rio Blanco County, Colorado, member of the Northwest TPR, submit this letter in response to the TPR study mandated by HB23-1101. As you are aware, the Northwest TPR is located in CDOT's Region 3 and is comprised of five counties (Grand, Jackson, Moffat, Rio Blanco and Routt) as well as the 10 municipalities within those counties. In regard to the potential changes in TPR boundaries, we request that the Northwest Transportation Planning Region stay the same and that there are no additions or deletions of the members currently within the NWTPR boundary.

We participate in an Intergovernmental Agreement each year, which includes acknowledging our cooperation in developing and maintaining a long-range Regional Transportation Plan, committing to participation in the Northwest Transportation Planning Region, and voting on chair and vice chair and representatives for STAC. Our TPR has worked together for many years with the goal to support the needs of all of the participating agencies in our rural NWTPR, even though there are differing priorities and there is never enough funding for all the needed projects.

We appreciate that CDOT is looking to ensure consistency and transparency of the TPR process throughout the state, and we are happy to assist with that endeavor. However, we believe our current boundaries and participating counties of the NWTPR are appropriate and <u>adamantly oppose any changes</u>. Furthermore, we feel that all of the TPR boundaries within Region 3 work well for participating agencies and should stay as is.

Sincerely,

The Board of County Commissioners of Rio Blanco County, Colorado

44GA

Doughert

JENNIFER O'HEARON Chairman TY GATES Commissioner bocc@rbc.us DOUG OVERTON Commissioner