

Grand County BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Colorado

308 Byers Ave., P.O. Box 264 | Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451 | 970-725-3347

Richard D. Cimino

District I, Fraser 80442

Merrit S. Linke

District 2, Granby 80446

Randal F. George

District 3, Kremmling 80459

Email: grndcty1@co.grand.co.us

Phone: 970-725-3100 **Fax:** 970-725-0565

Edward Moyer, County Manager

Maxine LaBarre-Krostue, County Attorney

August 31, 2023

TO: Transportation Planning Region Boundary Study Advisory Committee Members

Transportation Commissioners

Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee Members

RE: Opposition to modifying TPR/MPO boundaries in CDOT Region 3

Dear Transportation Planning Region Boundary Study Advisory Committee Members, Transportation Commissioners and Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee Members:

We are writing in response to the Transportation Planning Region (TPR) study mandated by **HB23-1101, Ozone Season Transit Grant Program Flexibility**. We humbly request that there be no additions to or deletions from the members currently within the Northwest TPR (NWTPR).

The NWTPR includes Grand, Moffat, Routt, Rio Blanco and Jackson counties – all of which are characterized by mountainous terrain, agricultural lands, and river valleys. Our counties are home to numerous national forests, wilderness areas, state parks, and world-renowned ski resorts. As the gateways to Rocky Mountain National Park and the West, our populations explode with visitors during both winter and summer seasons – which adverse winter weather conditions on our many high-altitude mountain passes can make challenging.

With limited redundant routes to provide detours and road closures, the NWTPR has worked together for many years to support the needs of our rural mountain communities. NWTPR agencies confirm participation in an Intergovernmental Agreement each year, which includes acknowledging our cooperation in developing and maintaining a long-range Regional Transportation Plan, committing to participation in the Northwest Transportation Planning Region, and voting on chair and vice chair and representatives for STAC.

Changing of TPR boundaries would be to the detriment of the NWTPR, and at the expense of our communities and visitors. It is for these reasons that we believe the TPR boundaries within Region 3 should remain unchanged.

Sincerely,

Richard Cimino
Commissioner Chair

Randal George Commissioner Merrit Linke
Commissioner