

November 8, 2023

Transportation Commission Colorado Department of Transportation 2829 W Howard Place Denver, CO 80204

Dear Transportation Commissioners,

The I-70 Coalition is represented by 28 local governments and businesses working together to address transportation issues along the I-70 mountain corridor. Although the majority of the membership falls within the Intermountain TRP (IMTPR), others are part of the Northwest TPR and DRCOG.

The I-70 mountain corridor provides access to and from Colorado's Rocky Mountains and is critical to the economic health of both our mountain communities and the state of Colorado. It is estimated that the Mountain Resort Region accounts for 25% of the state's tourism revenue. In addition, I-70 is the lifeline for corridor communities, is critical to intra- and inter-state commerce, and is vital to providing Western Slope residents access to jobs, medical services and educational opportunities.

For all of these reasons, it is imperative that the I-70 mountain corridor has adequate and equal representation in all of CDOT's funding conversations, particularly on the Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee (STAC). The I-70 Coalition encourages the Transportation Commission to consider and give weight to the data that was collected as part of the TPR Boundary Study Advisory Committee process. This data demonstrates that the IMTPR is actually bigger than all but three of the states MPO's. Additionally, a number of IMTPR metrics would <u>still exceed those of a combined</u> South Central and Southeast TPR including VMT, population, vehicle crashes, tourism direct spending, movement of goods, commuter origin/destination and truck miles traveled.

The emergency funding this corridor required in the last year is indicative that this critical corridor is not getting the funding it needs to maintain safety and operations. We strongly encourage the Transportation Commission to let the data guide any decision-making as it considers boundary changes as part of the TPR Study.

Sincerely,

Ryan Hyland, Chair I-70 Coalition

CC: Shoshana Lew, Executive Director, CDOT Herman Stockinger, Commission Secretary, CDOT