

## TOWN of FRISCO

P.O. Box 4100 · Frisco, Colorado 80443

October 25, 2023

TO: Transportation Planning Region Boundary Study Advisory Committee Members

**Transportation Commissioners** 

Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee Members

CC: Shoshana Lew, CDOT Executive Director

RE: Support of IMTPR Division in CDOT Region 3

Dear TPR Boundary Study Advisory Committee Members, Transportation Commissioners, and STAC Members:

The Town of Frisco is submitting this letter to express support for the division of the Intermountain Transportation Planning Region (IMTPR) into two new TPRs, as presented by CDOT on October 6, 2023. At the special meeting, the Town of Frisco, alongside a majority of IMTPR members, selected a split of the IMTPR to create the following two TPRs:

TPR 1 - Summit County, Lake County, Eagle County (partial)

TPR 2 - Garfield County, Pitkin County, Eagle County (partial)

The Town of Frisco believes the division proposed above provides the best option for cohesion of transportation and transit planning, projects, and priorities, as well as an equitable representation for our communities at STAC.

As mandated in HB 23-1101, CDOT has gathered and analyzed data for many parameters that influence travel and transit throughout the state. At our special meeting of the IMTPR, CDOT staff presented compelling data on vehicle miles traveled, truck vehicle miles traveled, tourism impacts, population, commuting, and crash rates that indicate a strong need to divide the IMTPR.

The Town of Frisco supports CDOT's analysis and agrees that a division of the IMTPR will bring a better balance of representation for the municipalities of the current IMTPR.

Respectfully,

DocuSigned by:

Hunter Mortensen, Mayor

Town of Frisco

-CBE0CC1AC14442E.

cc. Thad Renaud, Esq. (Counsel to the Town)