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Updates to Colorado’s Child Passenger Safety Laws

CPS Technician Fact Sheet

In June 2024, Gov. Jared Polis signed HB24-1055, a new bill that updates Colorado’s child passenger

safety law. These updates reflect the latest research-based recommendations on car seat, booster seat

and seat belt use for children.

Colorado’s child passenger safety laws, effective Jan. 1, 2025:
e Child passenger safety laws are a primary violation in Colorado.
e The “proper use” clause for all stages requires the child restraint or seat belt to be adjusted
and installed according to car seat and vehicle manufacturer’s instructions.
e Children must meet the height, weight and age requirements for the child restraint being used.
e Child restraints must meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.

Current Law

New Law (effective 1/1/25)

Rear-Facing
e Under 1 year of age
e Under 20 pounds
e Must be in back seat

Rear-Facing
e Under 2 years of age, and less than 40 pounds
e Must be in back seat if one is available
e Can continue to rear-face beyond 2 years of age and 40
pounds if child restraint allows it

Forward-Facing
e At least 1 year of age
e Over 20 pounds

Forward-Facing
e Under 2 years of age, and over 40 pounds
e 2-4years of age, and at least 20 pounds
e Must be in back seat if one is available
e Can continue to forward-face beyond 4 years of age and 40
pounds if child restraint allows it

Booster Seat
e At least 4 years of age
e Over 40 pounds

Booster Seat
e 4-9 years of age, and at least 40 pounds
e Must be in back seat if one is available
e (Can continue to use a booster seat beyond 9 years of age

Seat Belt
e Under 16 years of age
e Must fit in seat belt

properly

Seat Belt
e Under 18 years of age
e Must fit in seat belt properly

CPS technicians are trained in child passenger safety best practices that go beyond the legal
requirements in Colorado. Beyond communicating the facts of the new laws, these changes are
unlikely to affect technicians’ messaging when working with parents and caregivers.

For questions or support requests, please contact Car Seats Colorado coordinators:

Angel Giffin
angel.giffin@state.co.us

Kent Trimbach
kent.trimbach@state.co.us
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