Colorado Graduated Driver Licensing Laws for Drivers Under Age 18 A Guide for Law Enforcement

Tip: Check issue date of license for teen drivers and issue date of the "supervisor" in the car.							
	Statute	Restrictions	Exemptions	Penalty			
Belts	42-2-105.5(3) Code 589 All occupants must be secured in a safety belt or child restraint system.			Class A traffic infraction; primary violation; 2 pts; 8-40 hrs community service; \$65 1" offense; \$130 2"d; and \$195 3"d. Plus a \$10 surcharge.			
Safety	42-2-105.5(4) Code 468 Only one passenger in front seat. Driving with more passengers than safety belts in rear seats.	*		Class A traffic infraction; primary violation; 2 pts; 8-40 hrs community service; \$65.00 1st Offense; \$130 2st, \$195 3st. Plus a \$10 surcharge.			
Curfew	42-4-116(2)(a) Code 168 Operator who has held license less than one year shall not operate motor vehicle between midnight and 5 a.m.	No driving between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. for 1 yr of license.	Parent in car or an adult age 21 or older with a valid drivers license for at least 1 yr; emancipated minor; medical emergency; driving to school or on account of employment with signed document from school or employer.	Class A traffic infraction; secondary violation; 2 pts; 8-24 hrs community service; \$50 fine 1* offense; \$100 2*d; and \$150 3*d. Plus a \$17 surcharge.			
Points for Suspension: Teens under 18 lose license if 6 pts in 12 months or 7 pts before age 18.							

A Guide for Law Enforcement

Colorado Graduated Driver Licensing Laws for Drivers Under Age 18

lip: Check issue date of license for teen drivers and issue date of the "supervisor" in the car.							
	Statute	Restrictions	Exemptions	Penalty			
Permit	42-2-106 Code 062 Violated restrictions on temporary instruction permit.	Driver with instruction permit can only drive with individuals that signed the affidavit; supervisor must be in the front seat.	May allow an alternate permit supervisor, but must be age 21 or older with a valid driver's license.	Class A traffic infraction; 3 pts; \$70 plus a \$11 surcharge.			
Cell Phone	42-4-239(5)(a) & (b) Code 587 & 588 Misuse of cell phone while operating a motor vehicle.	No driver under 18 years of age shall use a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle.	To contact a public safety entity; or during an emergency.	Class A traffic infraction; primary violation; 1 pt; \$50 fine 1st offense; \$100 2st offense. Plus a \$7 surcharge.			
assenger	42-4-116(1)(a) Code 169 Minor driver operating a motor vehicle with an unauthorized passenger.	First 6 months of drivers license: No passengers under 21. Between 6 months to 1 year of holding license: 1 passenger under age 21 allowed.	Immediate family/ siblings are exempt; if parent in car or an adult age 21 or older with a valid drivers license for at least 1yr; or passenger needs emergency	Class A traffic infraction; secondary violation; 2 pts; 8-24 hrs community service; \$50 fine 1st offense; \$100 2nd; and \$150 3rd. Plus			

medical help.

For more information visit www.coteendriver.com

Revised: April 2011

a \$17surcharge.