
Colorado’s Child Passenger Safety Laws
In June 2024, Gov. Jared Polis signed a bill that updates Colorado’s child passenger safety law to
reflect the latest research-based recommendations on car seat, booster seat and seat belt use for 
children. The updates, which become effective Jan. 1, 2025, will ensure that Coloradans keep pace 
with evolving best practices for car seat and booster seat use. 

Colorado’s child passenger safety laws, including updates effective Jan. 1, 2025: 

  
● In Colorado, a driver can be pulled over and ticketed for having a child under the age of 18 riding 

in the vehicle without a car seat, booster or seat belt.

● Every child restraint or seat belt must be adjusted and installed as per the manufacturer’s 
instructions.

● All children must meet the specified height, weight and age requirements for their child restraint.

● All child restraints must conform to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. Counterfeit car seats 
are becoming more common and are dangerous.  Look for a label that says it is certified for use in 
motor vehicles to ensure it is safe.

Rear Facing Seats 

● Under 2 years of age, and less than 40 pounds.

● Must be in back seat if one is available.

● Can continue to rear-face beyond 2 years of age and 40 pounds until the child has outgrown the

height or weight limits of the car seat (recommended).

Forward-Facing Car Seats 

● Under 2 years of age, and over 40 pounds.

● 2-4 years of age, and at least 20 pounds.

● Must be in back seat if one is available.

● Can continue to forward-face beyond 4 years of age and 40 pounds until the child has outgrown the

height or weight limits of the car seat (recommended).

Booster Seats 

● 4-9 years of age and at least 40 pounds.

● Must be in back seat if one is available.

● Can continue to use a booster seat beyond 9 years of age until the child can properly fit in a seat
belt without it.

Seat Belts 

● 9-18 years of age.

● Must fit in seat belt properly.

For questions, please contact Car Seats Colorado coordinators at carseatscolorado@gmail.com. 
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