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Why GDL is a Priority

_—

*MYV crashes are the leading cause of
death among teens 15-19

* The crash rate of young drivers is
150% greater than the average driver

Nearly two-thirds of people killed in crashes
involving drivers ages 15-17 are people
other than the driver.



Why GDL is a Priority

_—

*Every 15 seconds a driver 15-20 is
involved in a police reported crash

* A teen’ s risk of dying in a crash nearly
doubles when one male passenger is
in the car and it more than doubles with
two or more male passengers.



Magnitude of the Problem

15-19 year old teen deaths by cause
Colorado, 1990-2006
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Teen Motor Vehicle Deaths: 2004 = 107; 2006 = 67



Contributing Risk Factors

_—

* Least likely group to use seatbelts

* Inexperienced driving

* Teen brain development

* Misperception of invincibility and risk
* Distractions

— Passengers (especially males)
— Cell phones, music, eating, etc.

* Drinking or riding with drinking driver
* Night-time driving
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* Most people (including law enforcement)
don’ t understand the GDL Law

* Most people don’ t realize motor vehicle (MV)
crashes are the number one Killer of teens

* MV crashes are perceived as “accidents” -
nothing can be done



* MV safety not a priority when a student has
multiple risks (abuse, alcohol/drug use, etc.)

* Not a typical focus of primary care providers
* Teens don' t like the passenger restrictions!!

* Inconvenient for coaches, parents, etc.
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New GDL Laws
Permit Holders

*Teens must hold learner’ s permit for 1
year

*Must wear seatbelt

*No cell phones



GDL Law
Restricted License

Secondary Violation

* A person under the age of 18 shall have no
passengers under 21 for the first 6 months

* NOTE: See exemptions.



GDL Law
Restricted License

_—

Secondary Violation

A person under the age of 18 with a

license for at least 6 months but less
than one year shall have no more than
one passenger in the vehicle

* NOTE: See exemptions.



GDL Law
Restricted License

Secondary Violation

* A driver under the age of 18 with a
license for less than one year shall
not operate a motor vehicle
between midnight and 5:00 am

* NOTE: See exemptions.



GDL Law
Restricted License

Primary Violation

* Drivers under age 18 and all
passengers must wear seatbelts

*No more than one passenger in the
front seat

* The number of passengers in the
backseat must not exceed the number
of seatbelts
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Things to Look For

* Check license “date of issue.”



Things to Look For
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With a driver under 18:

*+*Only 1 passenger in the front seat

* Everyone must be in seat belts
(even Iin the back seat)

*Passengers must not exceed
number of seat belts



Things to Look For

With a driver under 18:

* First six months of driving, ONLY
siblings and immediate family
members in car

*Second six months of driving, ONLY
ONE teen passenger (non-family
member) allowed



Things to Look For

With a driver under 18:

*During first full year with license,
NO driving between midnight and
5:00 am (see exemptions)



Resources

* Colorado Department of Revenue
www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp

* The Driver’ s Seat
www.coteendriver.com

* DRIVE SMART Colorado Springs
www.drivesmartcoloradosprings.com




Contact Information

Maile Gray
719-444-7534

Lindsey Myers
303-692-2589
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