## Colorado's **Graduated Driver Licensing Laws**



Colorado's Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are designed to help new teen drivers under the age of 18 develop important driving skills gradually while adhering to crucial restrictions during the first years of driving.



## Remember:

- No passengers under 21 for the first 6 months and no more than one passenger under 21 during the second 6 months (siblings and medical emergencies are exempt).
- No cell phone use while driving. Visit <u>codot.gov/handsfreeco</u> for more information on Colorado's hands-free driving law.
- Drivers and all passengers under 18 must wear a seat belt.
- No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by an instructor, parent or legal guardian.
- Never drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Always carry proof of auto insurance.
- Breaking any driving laws, including GDL restrictions, can put you at risk of losing your license or being involved in a car crash.

## Did you know? Over the past 20 years, GDL laws have contributed to a near 50% reduction in traffic fatalities involving young drivers. GDL laws mean safer roads for everybody.