
Colorado Graduated Driver Licensing Laws (GDL) 

For drivers under 18 years of age, Colorado implemented GDL laws to help teenagers gain important driving skills gradually 
while limiting dangers by restricting the number of passengers, banning cellphone use and setting a curfew. 

Types of training that may be required or recommended before obtaining a license: 

Instruction permit: All new drivers under age 18 require a parent/legal guardian’s signed 
“Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship” to get an instruction permit. 

50 hours of logged driving time (10 of the 50 hours must be at night): Completed under 
the supervision of the Colorado-licensed parent or legal guardian who signed the Affidavit of 
Liability, or a Colorado-licensed alternate permit supervisor appointed by the parent/guardian. 

Driver’s education: An approved 30-hour classroom or internet-based course that covers all 
aspects of driving, as recommended by the USDOT. 

Driver awareness program: A 4-hour classroom course on safety and driver education. 

Behind-the-wheel training: 6 hours of driving, in traffic situations, with an instructor 
employed or associated with an approved driver education course. 

For a list of state-approved driving schools, visit the website for the Colorado Department of 
Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles at colorado.gov/revenue/dmv. 

Driver’s license: Teens can apply for a license after having a permit for a full 12 months. 

CDOT Teen Driving Tip #1 

Learn the 
passenger 
restrictions 
for teen 
drivers. 

Always 
buckle up. 

CDOT Teen Driving Tip #2 CDOT Teen Driving Tip #3 

No cell 
phone 
use while 
driving. 

Never drive 
under the 
influence. 

CDOT Teen Driving Tip #5 CDOT Teen Driving Tip #4 

Home by 
midnight. 

Additional Resources: 

coteendriver.com/parent 
colorado.aaa.com 
drivesmartcolorado.com 
csp.state.co.us 

Penalties for permit violations: 

Violation Minimum Fine License Points

No approved supervisor $70 3

Cellphone use
$50 1st offense  
$100 2nd offense 

1

Penalties for restricted license violations: 

Violation Minimum Fine
Hours of 
Community Service

License 
Points

Unauthorized 
passenger

$50 1st offense 
$100 2nd offense 
$150 3rd offense  

8 to 24 2

All occupants must 
wear seat belt; more 
than one passenger 
front seat; more 
passengers than 
seat belts in rear

$65 1st offense 
$130 2nd offense 
$195 3rd offense 

8 to 40 2

Curfew
$50 1st offense 
$100 2nd offense 
$150 3rd offense 

8 to 24 2

https://csp.state.co.us
https://drivesmartcolorado.com
https://colorado.aaa.com
https://coteendriver.com/parent
https://colorado.gov/revenue/dmv


Steps to getting a driver’s license 

The training required before you can apply for a license depends on how old you are when you start the process. Colorado requires teens to have a driving permit 
for 12 full months before applying for a license. So, if you want to get your license on your 16th birthday, you’ll need to start the process before you turn 15.  

Permit/Learner stage: 

Age 15 to 15 and 6 months 
• Complete 30-hour driver’s education course. 
• Apply for permit (permit must be held for one year). 
• Log 50-hours of supervised drive time. 
• Complete 6 hours of behind the wheel training. 

Age 15 and 6 months to 16 
• Complete 4-hour driver awareness program or 

30-hour driver’s education course. 
• Apply for permit (permit must be held for one year). 
• Log 50 hours of supervised drive time. 
• Complete 6 hours of behind the wheel training.* 

Age 16 to 17 
• 4-hour driver awareness program or 30-hour 

driver’s education course.* 
• Apply for permit (permit must be held for one year). 
• Log 50 hours of supervised drive time. 
• 6 hours of behind the wheel training.* 

* Indicates not a requirement for this stage but recommended 

Start at age 15 up to 15 and 6 months: 

Complete 30-hour 
driver’s education 
course 

Apply 
for permit 
(minimum 
age 15) 

Log 
50-hours +driving 
time 

Start at age 15 and 6 months up to 16: 

Complete 4-hour 
classroom driver 
awareness program 

Log 
50-hours or 

Complete 30-hour 
driver’s education 
course 

Apply 
for permit +driving 

time 

Start at age 16 - 17: 

Apply 
for permit 

No requirements 
prior to applying 
for permit. Driver’s 
education and 
behind-the-wheel 
training strongly 
recommended. 

Log 
50-hours 
driving 
time 

+ 

6 hours behind-the-wheel 

age 16 and 6 months at time 
of applying for a license 

6 hours behind-the-wheel 
training is optional if age 16 and 
6 months or older at time of 
applying for a license. 

Apply for 
license after 

with permit. 

All drivers 
under age 18 
must follow 
restrictions 
outlined in 
this brochure. 
Violating them 
can result in a 
revoked license 
and lost driving 
freedom. 

6 hours behind-the-wheel 
training is optional 

training is mandatory if under 

12 full months 

Restricted license stage: 

Age 16 to 18 
• Restricted license for 12 months. 
• Drivers are granted a restricted license after 

passing a road test. 

Restrictions: 
• Cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. 
• No passengers who are not family members 

under the age of 21 for the first 6 months. 
• After 6 months, no more than one passenger 

under 21. 

Full privilege stage: 

After 12 months, or at age 18 (whichever comes first) 
drivers are no longer under GDL restrictions. 

For a list of state-approved driving schools 

visit the website for the Colorado Department of Revenue 
Division of Motor Vehicles at colorado.gov/revenue/dmv 

https://colorado.gov/revenue/dmv
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