
Teen Driver Resources:

AAA Colorado			   www.aaa.com/teens

Alive at 25			   www.aliveat25.us

Colorado Department 
of Transportation		  www.dot.state.co.us

Colorado State Patrol		  www.csp.state.co.us

Department of Revenue		  www.revenue.state.co 
Motor Vehicle Division		  .us/mv_dir/home.asp	
	
Rocky Mountain Insurance 
Information Association		 www.rmiia.org

Learn more at www.coteendriver.com.

YOU RULE     

Know Colorado’s 

Teen Driving Laws.

You’re in 

the Driver’s Seat.

Here’s how:

You’re in the Driver’s Seat.

FINALLY.
Power.

Freedom.

An unflattering photo on  

your license.

The joy of adulthood.

And a lot of responsibility.

Seriously.
Crashes are the leading cause of death 
for teens in Colorado and across the 
country. Colorado’s new laws are 
designed to help you gradually – and 
safely – build your skills and experience 
behind the wheel. 

Know them.
Obey them.

They’re keeping you in The Driver’s Seat.

Do you  GET IT?
See if you really understand Colorado’s GDL laws: 
take the quiz at www.coteendriver.com. Find out 
more about what you need to know to drive safely 
– and legally – on our website.
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Slap on those bumper stickers. You can 

personalize your ride. But you can’t personalize 

the rules. They’re black and white.

These laws are designed to keep you safe as you 

gain experience. Similar laws in other states have 

saved lives.

> PHASE 1

The Instruction Permit

Your autograph is not enough. All new drivers under age 18 
require a parent/legal guardian’s signed affidavit of liability 
to get an instruction permit. 

How old do you need to be to apply?
•	 16
•	 Or, 15-year-olds who have completed and passed the 	
	 classroom portion of a state-approved driver’s education 	
	 course within 6 months of applying for their permit.
•	 Or, 15 years and 6 months to 16 years who have 	 	
	 completed a 4-hour driver awareness course.

Rules for Teens Under 18 with Instruction Permits
•	 No talking, texting or using cell phones at all while driving.
•	 Who can ride:
	 If you’re under 18, you may not drive with anyone except 	
	 your driving instructor, parent or legal guardian or an 	
	 adult alternate permit supervisor approved by your parent 	
	 or legal guardian. If you’re 18 and older, you may drive 	
	 with any licensed driver 21 years of age or older.

After you get your Instruction Permit, before you 
can apply for a license you must:
•	 Hold an instruction permit for at least one year.
•	 Log 50 hours of driving time with an authorized, licensed 	
	 parent or legal guardian. Ten of those hours must be 	
	 nighttime driving.
•	 Complete behind-the-wheel training if you were issued 	
	 a permit between age 15 to 15 and 6 months on or after 	
	 April 23, 2007. Learn more at www.coteendriver.com or 	
	 contact your local Driver’s License Office.

> PHASE 2

The Restricted License

Rules for Licensed Drivers Under Age 18
•	 No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. until you’ve 	
	 had a driver’s license for at least one year, unless 	 	
	 accompanied by a parent/legal guardian. 
Exceptions:
•	 Driving to school or school-authorized activity and the 	
	 school doesn’t provide transportation. Signed statement 	
	 from school required. 

Exceptions, continued:
•	 Driving to/from work. Signed statement from employer 	
	 required.
•	 Medical emergency.
•	 You’re an emancipated minor with a valid driver’s license.

•	 Who can ride:
	 No passengers under age 21 until you’ve had a license 	
	 for at least six months. No more than one passenger 	
	 under age 21 until you’ve had a driver’s license for at 	
	 least one year. (Siblings and passengers with medical 	
	 emergencies excepted.)
•	 All drivers under 18 and their passengers must wear 	
	 seatbelts. This is a primary enforcement law.
•	 Only one passenger may ride in the front seat.
•	 No drinking and driving. Colorado has a ZERO 	 	
	 TOLERANCE law for minor drivers.
•	 Obey all traffic laws.
•	 Carry proof of insurance.
•	 Buckle up.

Learn more at www.coteendriver.com.

> PHASE 3

The Full Privilege 
License

Upon turning 18, restrictions are removed from 
your license. You then have a full privilege license. 

You’ve waited a long time for this. 
Don’t blow it.
If you get caught breaking a GDL law, Colorado will add 
points to your license. Points could result in community 
service and higher insurance costs. If you’re 16 or 17 years 
old and accumulate 6 points, you could lose your license.

But that’s not the point. The laws are designed to keep you 
– and everyone else in your vehicle and on the road – safe. 
Sixteen-year old drivers are nearly three times more 	
likely to be involved in a fatal crash than the average of 	
all other drivers. 

Learn Colorado’s GDL laws. Obey them.

Learn more at www.coteendriver.com.


