
Click It or Ticket Enforcement Underway: 

Get Belted, not Busted.
Seat belts save lives.* 
•	 �Wearing one doubles the 

chance of surviving a crash.

•	 �Motor vehicle crashes are 	
the number one killer of 
teens in Colorado and 	
severely injure hundreds 	
of teens every year.

•	 �In 2006, 71 teen drivers and 
passengers ages 15-20 died 
on Colorado highways.

•	 �68% of the teenagers who 
died were not wearing 	
seat belts.

•	 �For front-seat passengers, 
lap and shoulder belts 
reduce the chance of serious 
injury by as much as 50%.

•	 �In fatal crashes, 22% of 	
unbelted occupants are 
ejected from their vehicle 	
and 75% of them are killed; 
only 1% of belted occupants 
are ejected.

•	 �72.9% of teens in Colorado 
wear their seat belts, 	
compared to 81.1% of the 
general public.

•	 �Consistent use of seat belts 
by parents has been shown 
to be the single biggest 	
influence of a teen’s likelihood 
to wear seat belts.

•	 �All drivers under 18 and their 
passengers must wear seat 
belts. It’s the law.

Keep your license  
(and save your money).
•	 �Violations can cost a teen 

driver two points on their 
driving record for each 	
unbuckled person in the car.

•	 �A teen’s license can be 	
suspended once they reach 
six points. That means just 
three unbuckled people 	
can cost a teen their 	
driving freedom, plus a $150 
fine and 16 to 40 hours of 
community service.

www.coteendriver.com*Preliminary data.


