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TEEN DRIVING FACT SHEET

General

· Wearing backpacks while driving or riding is never recommended. Doing so puts you closer to the airbag and causes seat belts to fit improperly, increasing your chances of serious neck, back and head injuries, even death. 
· Sixteen-year-old drivers have the highest crash involvement rate of any age group in Colorado and are nearly three times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash than the average of all other drivers.

· In 2006, nearly 80 percent of teen passengers who died in car crashes in Colorado were riding with teen drivers.

· Teen drivers represent nearly 6% of licensed Colorado drivers, but they account for more than 11% of all traffic deaths in the state.

Seat Belts 

· Colorado teens are among those LEAST likely to buckle up. Seat-belt use in Colorado among teens is only 73% compared to 81% for adults.
· Last year in Colorado, 62% of teen traffic crash victims did not use seat belts.
· In Colorado in 2007, 45 teen drivers and passengers died in traffic crashes. If everyone had buckled up at least half of them should have survived.

· Drivers under age 18 and their passengers are required to wear a seat belt, and the teen driver can be stopped and ticketed for violating the law. The minimum fine for the first offense went from $50 last year to $75 this year. (Ref: Statute 42-2-105.5)

· Unbuckled teens are not only fined, but also risk their driving freedom. Two points are deducted from your license for each person in your car not wearing a seat belt. It only takes 6 points to revoke your license. 

· For front-seat passengers, lap and shoulder belts reduce the chance of serious injury by as much as 50 percent.

· In fatal crashes, only one percent of belted occupants are ejected from their vehicle; 22 percent of unbelted occupants are ejected and 75 percent of them are killed.

Distracted Driving

· Distracted drivers cause one in every six crashes.

· A teen’s risk of dying in a crash nearly doubles when one male passenger is in the car, and it more than doubles with two or more male passengers.

· In Colorado, drivers under age 18 are not allowed to have passengers under 21 until they have had their restricted license for at least six months, and then only one passenger under 21 for the first year. (See coteendriver.com for exemptions.)

· It’s illegal for a teen with an instruction permit to use a cell phone while driving. That includes texting.

