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TEEN EDITORIAL – for student newspapers, school Web site, etc.

Buckle Up or Pay the Consequences

Click it or Ticket is a familiar slogan, but it has even more meaning to teen drivers as the consequences become stricter.

For the first, second and third offenses, the fines have increased considerably. Not only will you feel the ticket lighten your wallet, but you will also lose two points off your license for every person not buckled up. When it only takes six points to have your license suspended, those points can add up fast.

In Colorado, teens can be pulled over by law enforcement simply for not wearing a seat belt. This may seem like a tough stand towards teens, but the laws were created to protect you and your friends.

Teens are among the least likely to wear their seatbelt. Of the 45 teens killed in Colorado in 2007, most were not wearing their seat belt. If everyone had been buckled up, at least half should have survived. Nationally in 2006, 63 percent of 15-20 year olds who died in passenger vehicles were not wearing seat belts.

It may seem as though wearing your seat belt is to protect you as a less experienced driver, but it is there to protect you just as much from other careless drivers on the road. 

A teen from Weld County realized the importance of her seat belt when a drunk driver collided with her car.

“I was once in an accident where my car was completely stopped at a stop sign. A drunk driver going about 85 mph rear-ended my car. My car then rolled over a few times, landing upright after hitting a gate. The other driver’s car twirled a couple times and ended on the other side of the road. If I had not been wearing my seat belt, I would have gone through the windshield…It’s good to wear a seat belt. It will stop you from hurting yourself or others,” explained Natalie Grapes, a student from Fossil Ridge High School.

As Natalie learned in her crash, your chances of being ejected from your vehicle in a crash increase considerably when you’re not buckled up. In fatal crashes, 22 percent of people who were unbuckled were ejected from their vehicle, and 75 percent of the people were killed. 

There are many consequences for not buckling up: fines, loss of your license or a fatal accident. Although the fines have increased, buckle up not only to save money but also to save a life.

To learn more about Colorado’s driving laws, especially those focused on teen drivers, go to www.coteendriver.com.

Previous Fine	New Fine_______


First Offense:	First Offense:


       $50		     $75





Second Offense:	Second Offense:


       $100		     $140


 


Third Offense:	Third Offense:


       $150	 	     $205








