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Teen editorial – Distracted Driving – for school papers or teen newsletters
Look Out!

More than half of your fellow teen drivers may text while driving.
We probably have seen some of our friends text messaging while driving, or maybe we’ve even done it ourselves.  But until now, we really didn’t have numbers to validate or discount what we might have suspected.  The results of a recent teen-driving survey are in and the numbers are troubling.

In a Colorado-only Internet survey conducted by AAA Colorado, teen drivers in Colorado might be even more distracted on the roads than many of us believed.  Fifty-one percent of Colorado teens admitted to text messaging while driving, and 66 percent admitted to talking on the cell phone while driving.

The AAA Colorado survey was completed in response to a national AAA survey that showed 46 percent of teens nationally admit to text messaging while driving, and 51 percent admitted to talking on their cell phone while driving.  AAA Colorado wanted to find out if the problem was as serious in Colorado as it appears to be nationally.

“We are very concerned at the large percentage of Colorado teens who admitted to engaging in dangerous distracted driving activities,” said Wave Dreher, Traffic Safety Specialist with AAA Colorado.  “Hopefully, the results of this survey will raise awareness of the problem of teen cell phone use while driving, and encourage teens to be more aware and less distracted when driving.  We also hope it sends a message to parents to set a good example around their children.”  

Four hundred and sixty Colorado teens responded to the online survey from 84 different cities and towns in Colorado.  While not a statistically valid survey, it nevertheless reflects trends in teen driver behavior in Colorado and across the country.  Other key results included:

· 97% of Colorado teens surveyed knew that text messaging while driving is dangerous.

· 74% of Colorado teens surveyed do not know traffic laws for cell phone use in Colorado.

· 81% of Colorado teens surveyed believe there should be some legal limitation on cell phone use (including text messaging) while driving.

· 73% of Colorado teens said that strict driving penalties (such as losing their license) would make them less likely to text message while driving.

· 38% of Colorado teens surveyed admitted to taking their eyes off the road when texting while driving.

The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), Colorado State Patrol and Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association (RMIIA) partnered with AAA Colorado to promote awareness of the survey.  A press conference announcing the results took place on Nov. 13 at Denver South High School.  Many teens attended the press conference and signed a pledge not to text message while driving.  That’s a promise many of us should consider making ourselves. The fact is, safe driving requires your full attention. Newly licensed drivers need practice, experience, discipline and patience… so let your phone go to voicemail or send a text when you are parked. It could save a life.
More extensive results from the survey, as well as comments from teenagers who took the survey, can be found at www.coteendriver.com or www.aaa.com/teens.

