
BLINDFOLD
A TEXT IS A 5 SECOND

Texting while driving is illegal in Colorado.



EYES ON THE ROAD. NOT ON YOUR PHONE.

Texting while driving is against the law in Colorado 

and law enforcement officers are cracking down.

With distracted driving-related accidents on the rise, 

it’s time to put down the phone.

Lose the blindfold and drive distraction-free.
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LOSE THE BLINDFOLD.
Drive distraction-free.

KNOW THE FACTS

61 The number of people killed  
in distracted driving accidents in  
Colorado in 2013 (FARS)

$100 The fine Colorado drivers 
can face for texting while driving. 

3x 	The increased likelihood 
of getting in an accident while 
using a cell phone or similar 
device. (VTTI)

4.6 The average number of  
seconds that texting diverts a  
driver’s eyes, the equivalent of  
driving the length of a football  
field at 55 mph. (VTTI)

39,540 The number of 
distracted driving crashes in 
Colorado from 2010 through 
2012. (CDOT) 

1/4 The amount of teens who 
respond to a text every time 
they drive.

ATTENTION, PLEASE!

Just because you’re not texting 
doesn’t mean you’re driving 
distraction-free. These are also 
common distractions:

•	Focusing on kids, pets or 
	 other passengers 

•	Reading maps or looking 
	 at your GPS 

•	Adjusting a radio, CD player 
	 or MP3 player 

•	Eating lunch on the go

•	Drinking coffee on your way 
	 to work 

•	Watching a video

•	Shaving or applying makeup

Learn more at DISTRACTION.GOV


