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Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) School 

Student Application 
 

 

The State of Colorado’s Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) program has received national acclaim for its success in 

identifying and prosecuting drug impaired drivers. Although the focus of the DRE curricula is on the identification of the 

drug impaired driver, DRE skills are applied to many different law enforcement activities. In addition, DREs are 

frequently called upon to differentiate between drug impairment and medical issues. The certified DRE is a valuable tool 

for combating impaired driving. 

Due to class size, the needs of the State, and budget constraints, not all applicants will be accepted. Further, if the 

applicant is successful, it should be noted that the DRE School is extremely demanding. To receive certification as a 

DRE, all phases of training must be completed. 

 

Academic Training- This phase is typically conducted over a two-week period. It includes courses in 

physiology, vital signs, standardized field sobriety testing (SFST), as well as extensive material on each of the 

seven categories of drugs. The training includes three written examinations, an SFST proficiency examination, 

and five written quizzes. Students must achieve a minimum score of 80% on all written examinations and must 

demonstrate proficiency in administering the SFSTs to progress to the certification phase. 

Certification Phase- After successfully completing the academic portion, the students return to their agencies. 

The student is required to complete the following within six months following the DRE School: •

 Conduct a minimum of 12 drug influence evaluations. 

• Identify a minimum of three (3) of the seven (7) drug categories. 

• Obtain a 75% toxicological confirmation rate. 

• Maintain a progress log, rolling log, and submit a curriculum vitae. 

• Pass the comprehensive Final Knowledge Exam with the endorsement of two DRE 

Instructors. 

• Complete the certification process in 6 months or less. 

 

The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) and the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) are 

the regulating and certifying organizations for the DRE Program. DRE certification is valid for two years. To maintain 

certification, DREs are required to complete (as the evaluator) a minimum of four evaluations (one of which is observed 

by a DRE Instructor), submit a rolling log and current resume, attend 8 hours of training approved by the State DRE 

Coordinator during this period to remain active, and enter all evaluations into the national database. 

The IACP and CO DRE standards are provided for your review at: https://www.codot.gov/safety/dre. Review these 

standards prior to completing this application. 

 

http://www.codot.gov/safety/dre
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Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) School 

Student Application 

To apply for the DRE School, you must be a certified Colorado Peace Officer in compliance with all the Colorado 

Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) requirements. You must be currently certified in the NHTSA/IACP 24 

hr. Basic SFST Class. You must have successfully attended the NHTSA Advance Roadside Impaired Driving 

Enforcement (ARIDE) class. Please note that the on-line ARIDE class does not qualify for this requirement. It is 

preferred that the applicant have traffic enforcement experience, specifically regarding impaired driving enforcement 

and courtroom testimony. 

The DRE School is free.  CDOT will cover the cost of instruction, materials, and lodging (if applicable) for applicants 

selected to attend. Vehicle expenses, mileage, and wages are not compensated.  Breakfast is included at the hotel if 

lodging is approved.  Lunch is provided, free of cost, on classroom days for all attendees.   

Application Checklist- 

o Completed Student Application 

o SFST Basic Certificate 

o ARIDE Certificate 

o Training Certificates to confirm 2hr SFST update, demonstrating continued compliance 

o Copy of your CV 

o Letter of Support from your Command Staff 

o Any documentation that will support your application 

Applicant Information- 

• Name:     Rank:     

• Current Assignment:     

• Agency:  Phone:     

• Address:     

• Email Address:     

Certification Information- 

• Date of SFST 24 hr. Basic Certification Class:     

• Date of last recertification:    

• Number of Alcohol Impaired Driving Arrests:     

• Number of Drug Impaired Driving Arrests:     
 

Submission Instructions- 

Please collect and complete all sections of this application. Scan all documents into a single PDF file and email that file to 

kimberly.ferber@state.co.us by Friday, March 12th, 2021.
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