# The Long Road: Navigating a DUI Arrest



If you drive impaired, even to the slightest degree, you can be arrested for a DUI. Colorado law enforcement is trained to identify drivers impaired by alcohol, cannabis and other drugs.

- A law enforcement officer will initiate a stop for a traffic violation, such as swerving or speeding.
- If the officer observes the driver is showing signs of impairment, the officer will begin their investigation to assess impairment.
- A roadside sobriety test determines if you can complete divided attention maneuvers.
- When arrested, you are required to take a blood-alcohol or breath test under Colorado's Expressed Consent Law.
- If you refuse to test, you will immediately lose your license and can face additional consequences.

### Once the officer determines impairment, you begin the long road of a DUI arrest. The first stop is a processing station.

- Arrive at a station and hand over your license and belongings.
- Photographs and fingerprints are taken as you're booked.
- Stay the night in jail or phone a friend to come bail you out.
- If you are highly intoxicated, you might be transferred to detox.





### A DUI citation will affect your driving privileges.

- If you refused a test or had a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) greater than or equal to .08, your license will be suspended for 12 months. Subsequent offenses can result in longer suspensions.
- After 12 months, to reinstate your license, you can expect to partake in some or all of the following:
  - Pay to have an ignition interlock device installed on any vehicle you drive.
  - Pay a license reinstatement fee.
  - Provide proof of SR22 insurance.



Getting a DUI arrest is a time commitment. Throughout the process, you will face various legal fines and penalties, guaranteeing you substantial time in court.

- It's time to pay up. The average cost of a DUI in Colorado is \$13,530.
- A DUI not only costs you money, but your time as well.
- It takes **170 hours** to work through court processes, education and your interlock requirements.

## You'll be required to complete education and treatment to fully reinstate your license.

#### **Classes & Treatment**

- Both the DMV and the court will require you to complete education and treatment to fully reinstate your license.
- Based on your BAC and previous offenses, a treatment track will be created for you.
- For a first-time DUI offender, it can take **up to six months** to work through these programs even longer if you're a repeat offender.
- If you refuse to test, test at .150 BAC or have a prior DUI from anywhere in the US, you will be classified as a Persistent Drunk Driver (PDD).

#### Freedom? Not Quite.

Even one DUI has a permanent impact on your life, and the consequences get more severe with each additional DUI.

- Embarrassment: The stigma of a DUI may harm your reputation.
- Job loss: You can be terminated or refused to be hired because of a DUI conviction.
- Criminal record: A DUI arrest stays on your criminal record indefinitely.

# **Never Drive Impaired**









Learn more at HeatIsOnColorado.com