# The Facts About Marijuana-Impaired Driving



Colorado lost 763

people on state roadways in 2022.

101

#### **Fatalities**

involved a vehicle operator with Delta-9 THC, the impairing substance in cannabis, above the legal limit of 5ng at the time of the crash.



#### Any amount of Delta-9 THC

in your blood puts you at risk for a DUI.



## How high is too high to drive? Under Colorado law:

The main factor leading to a DUI arrest is the law enforcement officer's observation of impairment by the vehicle operator. If the officer determines that the driver's ability to drive is impaired by alcohol and/or drugs to the slightest degree, then an arrest can be made. One or more of the following specific factors can lead to an arrest:

- Observed impairment of the vehicle operator
- · Initial traffic offense for which the operator is stopped
- Driver's reaction to an officer's command to stop
- · Driver's action while exiting the vehicle
- Performance during roadside standard field sobriety testing (roadside test)
- · Results of any approved roadside testing device

n 2021

#### 25% of vehicle operators

involved in fatal crashes tested positive for more than one drug.

0000

#### 17% of marijuana consumers

reported driving within 2 to 3 hours of consuming marijuana.

# How does marijuana impair driving?

Multiple independent studies have shown that marijuana impairs the critical abilities needed to drive safely, resulting in:

- Difficulties in road tracking and maintaining lane position.
- · Decreased and divided attention.
- · Relaxed inhibitions.
- Impaired cognitive skills, including route planning, decision making and/or risk taking.

- Altered perception of time and distance.
- · Slowed reaction time.
- Impaired cognitive performance.





## Can medical marijuana consumers be arrested for driving impaired?

Yes. If you are impaired while driving, even as a medical cardholder, you are at risk of getting a DUI.



## What are the consequences of a DUI for marijuana-impaired driving?

The same DUI laws apply for marijuana as they do for alcohol or any combination of impairing substances. Penalties vary, and fines range from \$200 to \$1,500 and can even exceed a total financial cost of \$13,500. Other consequences include jail time, loss of license and more.

For more information on DUI consequences, visit NoDUIColorado.org/court.



## Mixing cannabis and alcohol significantly amplifies impairment.

Even if the vehicle operator is below both the BAC and Delta-9 THC legal limit, mixing cannabis and alcohol significantly impairs driving abilities and can still put you at risk of getting a DUI.



For more information on DUI consequences, visit: DriveHighDUI.com FeelDifferentDriveDifferent.org Colorado.gov/CDPHE

