

Colorado Department of Transportation March 27, 2009 - 9:00 am-Noon CDOT Auditorium

Interagency Task Force on Drunk Driving (ITFDD) created by enactment of Senate Bill 06-192 whose mission is to:

Investigate methods of reducing the incidence of drunk and impaired driving and to develop recommendations for the State of Colorado regarding the enhancement of government services, education and intervention to prevent drunk and impaired driving.

- I. Introductions
 - a. Self-Introductions: Name; Agency, entity or interest represented
 - b. Legislation Sponsors' Remarks (if in attendance)
 - c. Public Comments
- II. Introduction of Representative from Colorado State Patrol
 - a. Colonel James Wolfinbarger
- III. <u>Designated Drivers of Colorado Springs Program Description</u> http://www.noduisprings.com/
 - a. Nonie Rispin
- IV. Nominations for Task Force Vice Chair
- V. <u>CDOT Legislation Report and Update</u>
 - a. Melissa Nelson or Tom Lorz
- VI. ITFDD response to CBS 60 minutes story The Debate On Lowering The Drinking Age aired 2/22/2009

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2009/02/19/60minutes/main4813571.shtml?source=search_story

- Dr. Timken's handouts from Boulder Camera and American Psychological Association Newsletter http://www.cbsnews.com/news/2009/mar/05/ten-reasons-to-keep-21-drinking age/
- VII. Request for ITFDD support to oppose HB09-1266. Repeal of the loss of driving privileges as a penalty for certain crimes.
 - http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2009a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/606C6622ABEED2E58725753C007
 - a. Steve Hooper (DOR) and Karen Abrahamson (DBH)

VIII. Proposed change to ITFDD By-laws. Amendment to Article III, Add Section 2 – Vacancies a. Commander Paul Wood (WCSO)

XI. <u>Sub-Committee – Updates</u>

Sub-Committees

By Laws Sub-Committee Bill Young, Chair - MillerCoors

Prevention Sub-Committee

Karen Abrahamson, Chair – Colorado Department of Human Services, Division of Behavioral Health

Intervention Sub-Committee
Ray Fisher, Chair - Colorado State Patrol

Victim Rights and Roles Sub-Committee Emily Tompkins, Chair - Mothers Against Drunk Driving

Ignition Interlock Sub-Committee Steve Hooper, Chair - Colorado Department of Revenue

System Improvements Sub-Committee Abe Hutt, Chair - Colorado Criminal Defense Bar

Persistent Drunk Driver Sub-Committee Christine Byars, Chair – Colorado Department of Human Services – Division of Behavioral Health

Communications Sub-Committee Bear Kay, Chair - Colorado State Patrol

X. Other Agenda Items

XI. Next Meeting

a. May 29, 2009 - 9:00 - Noon, CDOT Auditorium

XII. Adjourn