Seat Belts


Seat Belts Save Lives!

Regular seat belt use is the single most effective way to prevent serious injuries and save people from dying in motor vehicle crashes.

In 2016, 180 people who weren't buckled up lost their lives in traffic crashes on Colorado roadways. If everyone had buckled up, nearly half of the victims would have lived.

CDOT partners with law enforcement agencies, community coalitions and other safety advocates to educate the public about Colorado's seat belt laws and the importance of wearing seat belts every trip, every time.

Click It or Ticket is a nationwide campaign from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Since Click It or Ticket started in Colorado in 2002 seat belt use in Colorado has increased from 72 percent to 85.2 percent.

With federal funding from NHTSA, CDOT and local law enforcement agencies conduct periodic high-visibility seat belt enforcement waves throughout the year in an effort to save lives and increase belt use on Colorado roadways. The minimum fine is $65 per violation.

Seat Belt Use
  • Colorado rate: 84%
  • National average: 90.1%
Contact Us
  • Sam Cole
    Communications Manager
    Email Sam.

  • Lynn Holly
    Occupant Protection/
    Child Passenger Safety
    (Not Click-It or Ticket related)
    Email Lynn.

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal