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Primary care providers can significantly influence a parent’s attitudes, knowledge and practices with
regard to child passenger safety. A study shows that 68 percent of parents look to their family
doctor or nurse for advice on car seat safety'. Awareness of the Colorado child passenger safety
law and best practices for safe transportation of children are important components of promoting child
passenger safety for all clients. Provider encouragement increases child restraint usage rates and can
help identify potential areas of incorrect use. Pediatricians and family practice physicians should focus
on dissemination of CPS resources in the community, as well as understanding current best practice
recommendations. Family physicians can have a significant impact on the continued and correct use of
child restraints at each well check encounter. To effectively promote child passenger safety practices
among parents, the physician should educate all clients about the safety benefits of child restraints as
well as the risks associated with incorrect use or non-use.

Child passenger safety should be discussed at the first and subsequent postnatal visits. While most
parents will have made a decision about which child restraint they will be transporting their child in,
many will not understand the importance of having their restraint inspected for proper use, installation
and recall history. CPS education that is given repeatedly in person can have a significant influence on
motor vehicle crash injury outcomes. The topic should be introduced with an open-ended statement
such as, “Have you thought about how to safely transport your baby in your vehicle?” Tailor answers to
the patient's background, and use the opportunity to mention the risks associated with incorrect use or
non-use. Any history of incorrect use is predictive of future compromises to the child’s safe
transportation and should be discussed with the patient.

Key Talking Points for Providers

1. American of Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) & NHTSA’s Recommendations
a. Emphasize:
i. Rear-facing until 2 years of age
ii. Proper seat belt fit testing in lieu of age/weight
b. Share Resources:
i. AAP
ii. NHTSA
2. Share Colorado Law
a. Colorado Child Passenger Law Flier
3. Refer clients to a certified child passenger safety technician for personal help.
a. CDOT’s Child Passenger Safety Website
4. ACTION ITEM/Conclusion
a. Ask Provider or Office Manager to post the law flier in all exam rooms.

i Macy, M. (2011). Parents Turning Car Seats to Face Forward Too Early. CS Mott Children’s Hospital National
Poll on Children’s Health (13) 5. Ann Arbor, MI: Author.


http://www.healthychildren.org/english/safety-prevention/on-the-go/pages/car-safety-seats-information-for-families.aspx?nfstatus=401&nftoken=00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000&nfstatusdescription=ERROR%3a+No+local+token
http://www.healthychildren.org/english/safety-prevention/on-the-go/pages/car-safety-seats-information-for-families.aspx?nfstatus=401&nftoken=00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000&nfstatusdescription=ERROR%3a+No+local+token
http://www.healthychildren.org/english/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.safercar.gov/parents/index.htm
https://www.codot.gov/safety/seatbelts-carseats/carseats/new-cps-content/documents-resources/child-passenger-safety-law-flier-english.pdf
http://www.carseatscolorado.com/
https://www.codot.gov/safety/seatbelts-carseats/carseats/new-cps-content/documents-resources/child-passenger-safety-law-flier-english.pdf

