Safety

Wyoming Ranks as the Worst State for Drunken Driving

Drunk DrivingThe National Highway Traffic Safety Administration figures for highway deaths caused by drunken driving are sobering. The worst states per capita for drunken driving fatalities are Wyoming, South Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, and Alabama, as compiled by Safewise.com.

In December 2017, 885 people died in traffic crashes involving a drunk driver.

“The majority of U.S. states require mandatory alcohol abuse assessment or treatment after a DUI conviction, but neither is required in four out of the five worst states for drunken driving deaths,” Safewise said in a statement. “Among the five states with the most drunken driving deaths, the average minimum fine for the first DUI conviction is $300, compared to $524 among the five states with the fewest drunken driving deaths.”

Read the full article here. 

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal