Safety

Impaired Drivers Fumble During Super Bowl Weekend

Traffic Safety Pulse - March 2019The Los Angeles Rams weren’t the only losers over Super Bowl weekend. During this year’s The Heat Is On Super Bowl weekend DUI enforcement, 315 citations were issued to impaired drivers statewide.

Colorado State Patrol (CSP) and statewide law enforcement agencies were on high alert for impaired drivers throughout the weekend — 114 agencies participated in the enforcement period, with the majority of arrests being made in large metropolitan areas. The highest amount of arrests were made in Colorado Springs (35), Denver (25), and Lakewood (12). CSP made 53 arrests statewide.

“Finding a sober ride home is the easiest way to keep yourself and others on the road safe,” said Darrell Lingk, director of the Office of Transportation Safety at CDOT. “Some people still think they’re able to drive safe while impaired, and that is just not the case.” 

The legal blood-alcohol content (BAC) limit in Colorado is 0.05 percent for driving while ability impaired (DWAI) and 0.08 percent for driving under the influence (DUI). First-time DUI offenders can be punished with up to one year in jail, license suspension and thousands of dollars in fines. On average, a DUI can cost more than $13,500 after considering fines, legal fees and increased insurance costs. In addition to alcohol, drivers can also be arrested for driving while under the influence of marijuana.

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal