Seasonal Closures

Due to harsh winter conditions often experienced in areas throughout Colorado, a few mountain passes and rest areas are closed throughout the winter. All closing and opening dates are subject to change depending on weather conditions.

Blue snow flake divider

Seasonal Closures. 1. Virginia Dale Rest Area 2. Mount Evans 3. Independence Pass 4. Cottonwood Pass 5. Kebler Pass

  1. Virginia Dale Rest Area on US 287
    • Closes in September and reopens in May before Memorial Day
  2. Mount Evans on CO 5
  3. Independence Pass on CO 82
    • Closes around Nov. 7.
    • Typically opens the Thursday before Memorial Day. 4.
  4. Cottonwood Pass in Chaffee/Gunnison Counties in Southwestern Colorado 
    (maintained by Gunnison County Public Works)
  5. Kebler Pass
    (maintained by Gunnison County Public Works)
    • The pass is typically closed from November to May
    • For more information, call 970-641-0044
  6. US 34/Trail Ridge Road
    (maintained by Rocky Mountain National Park Service)