Commercial Vehicle Permits
**For carriers that utilize dual lane configurations, a NEW double dolly weight chart has been posted to the Maps tab of the Restrictions & Maps page.
** The CDOT Permit Office has launched a new oversize/overweight permitting system. The new system (COOPR) is located at https://coopr.codot.gov. Please update your bookmarks. COOPR allows for 24/7 access, fleet management and self-issue capabilities on some permits, and a routing component to assist Annual Permit holders with determining safe routing for their loads.
All applications need to be placed in COOPR for processing. EFFECTIVE July 1, 2015, the CDOT permit office will no longer accept OSOW permit applications by fax. Please submit all OSOW permit applications at https://coopr.codot.gov.
** Chain Law in effect - September 1, 2014 - May 31, 2015.
Commercial vehicles operating on I-70 in either direction between mileposts 133 (Dotsero) and 259 (Morrison) must carry sufficient chains at all times to be in compliance with the Colorado chain law. Colorado Chain Up Tips and CSP TireChain Requirements
The office will reopen on Monday, July 6, 2015, at 7:30 a.m. and we will process applications in the order in which they were received. Please allow the staff time to process the applications before requesting permit status checks.
** CHAPTER 6 SPECIALS - Please allow 2-3 weeks for the Permit Office to process Chapter 6 Special Permits. Due to a shortage of staff in the Bridge section and an increase in applications, we are requesting that all applications and supporting documentation be submitted well in advance so the applications can be put in the queue to be processed.
Interstate carriers may contact the FMCSA at (720) 963-3130.
Colorado based carriers may contact the CSP at (303) 273-1875.
- The Permit Office has a 2-hour turn around time for the issuance of Oversize/Overweight Single Trip permits. We will not guarantee that applications received after 3:00 p.m. (MT) will be processed on the same business day. Applications are processed in the order in which they are received.
Our busiest days of the week are typically Mondays and Fridays. We recommend that applications be submitted early in the day to avoid delays.
All Extra-legal vehicles must contact E-470 at (303) 537-3700 for travel on E-470. This contact must be made at least 48 hours prior to movement.
- Truck Permit Office
CDOT Permit Office
4201 East Arkansas Avenue, Rm 124
Denver, Colorado 80222
Long Distance: 1-800-350-3765
Local Calls: 303-757-9539
Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 4:30 pm
Phone calls accepted 7:30 am - 4:30 pm
Walk-Ins until 4:00 pm
Note: Permit Staff Meetings are typically scheduled on
Thursdays, 10:00 am - 10:30 am (MT)
Suggestions to help us improve our service?
E-mail us and let us know: email@example.com