Business Center

Holiday Restrictions & Important Notices

Chain Law

All commercial vehicles operating on I-70 between Dotsero (milepost 133) and Morrison (milepost 259) between September 1st to May 31st must carry sufficient chains to be in compliance with the Colorado chain law.

The fine for not carrying chains between mileposts 133 and 259 on the I-70 corridor during the specified time season is $50 plus a surcharge.  The fine for not chaining up when the chain law is in effect is $500 with a surcharge.  The fine for not chaining up and subsequently blocking the highway is $1,000 plus a surcharge.

Current Road Conditions

Additional Oversize/Overweight restrictions

(Note: Summer restrictions on I-70 are from Memorial Day to Labor Day, every year)

(Note: Winter restrictions on I-70 are from December 1 - March 31, every year)

 

Holiday Schedule

The Permit Office will be closed in observance of the following holiday days, unless noted.

Wednesday, July 4, 2018 Independence Day

Monday, September 3, 2018

Labor Day

Monday, October 8, 2018

Columbus Day

Monday, November 12, 2018 Veterans Day  

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Thanksgiving Day

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Christmas Day Holiday

Tuesday, January 1, 2019

New Year's Day Holiday

Submit applications in a timely manner to ensure issuance of the permit prior to the movement of the vehicle or load.

** PLEASE, BUCKLE UP **

 

Holiday Restrictions

Holiday restrictions:

An LVC is prohibited from travel at any time on Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day. If Independence Day falls on a Saturday an LVC is also prohibited from travel on the previous Friday, and if such holiday falls on a Sunday an LVC is also prohibited from travel on the following Monday.

An LVC may travel on New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. However, if such holiday falls on a Saturday an LVC is prohibited from travel on the previous Friday, and if such holiday falls on a Sunday an LVC is prohibited from travel on the following Monday.

An Extra-legal Vehicle or Load, other than an LVC, is prohibited from travel between the hours of 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. on Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day. When Independence Day falls on a Saturday an Extra-legal Vehicle or Load is also prohibited from travel on the previous Friday between 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 9:00 p.m., and when Independence Day falls on a Sunday an Extra-legal Vehicle or Load is also prohibited from travel on the following Monday between 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 9:00 p.m. An Extra-legal Vehicle or Load is prohibited from travel between the hours of 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 9:00 p.m. on the Friday preceding Memorial Day and Labor Day.

Truck Permit Office
  • CDOT Permit Office
    2829 W. Howard Pl.
    Denver, CO 80204
    Long Distance: 1-800-350-3765
    Local: 303-757-9539

  • Office Hours:
    7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Monday - Friday
    Walk-ins welcome until 4 p.m.
    Note: Permit staff meetings are typically scheduled from 10-10:30 a.m. on Thursdays

  • Send us your suggestions.

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal