CDOT reminds motorists: don’t ruin your summer — or your life — with a DUI

News Release

June 6, 2024 - Colorado - Summer Blitz DUI enforcement begins today

CDOT recuerda a los motoristas no arruinarse el verano o la vida con un DUI en español

Statewide — Colorado sunshine brings backyard BBQ’s, outdoor concerts, baseball games, and more. But you could miss it all this summer with a DUI. To keep roadways safe, the Colorado Department of Transportation will support the Colorado State Patrol (CSP) and 69 local law enforcement agencies for The Heat Is On Summer Blitz DUI enforcement period from June 6 to 19. During the 14-day enforcement period, drivers may see saturation patrols, sobriety checkpoints and additional law enforcement officers on duty dedicated to arresting impaired drivers. If your warm weather plans include alcohol or cannabis, leave the keys at home and plan a sober ride.

“With more motorists on the road during the summer months, law enforcement is urging Coloradans to slow down, buckle up and always drive sober,” said Col. Matthew C. Packard, chief of the Colorado State Patrol. “The period between Memorial Day and Labor Day is known as the 100 Deadliest Days of Summer, as impaired driving-related fatalities tend to spike in Colorado. Keep safety top of mind this summer — plan a sober ride home.”

Red graphic with Shift into Safe logo, The Heat Is On logo and photo of Colorado State Patrol vehicle on a dirt road. On graphic copy reads 100 Deadliest Days continue.

There were 307 reported DUI arrests over last year’s Summer Blitz enforcement period. So far in 2024, there have been 58 fatal crashes in Colorado that involved an impaired driver. Colorado law enforcement remains committed to keeping our roads safe and removing impaired drivers.

“So far this year, there have been over 2,200 DUI arrests during heightened enforcement,” said CDOT’s Office of Transportation Safety Director Darrell Lingk. “Never let your friends and family get behind the wheel impaired. If you’re hosting a pool party or backyard BBQ this summer, encourage your guests to designate a sober driver or take a rideshare service. You can prevent a crash and save lives.”

Although most Coloradans choose to never drive impaired, the ones that do racked up over 16,000 DUI arrests in 2023. According to, first-time DUI offenders can be subject to an average cost of $13,530 in fines and penalties, including:

  • Increased auto insurance: $3,600
  • Ignition interlock service: $2,172
  • Alcohol/drug treatment & education: $1,000
  • Defense attorney: $3,650
  • Arrest, court & legal fees: $2,300
  • Department of Revenue & DMV fees: $773

About one-third of fatal crashes in Colorado involve an impaired driver. This summer, CDOT advises people to plan a sober ride home before going out. If you have a designated driver, make sure they have not been consuming alcohol or cannabis before entering their vehicle.

Following Summer Blitz, the next DUI enforcement period will be the Fourth of July Weekend from July 3 to 8.

For yearly impaired-driving crash and fatality data in Colorado, visit For local law enforcement agency plans, visit

DUI Checkpoint B-Roll

CDOT is making available new DUI checkpoint footage, available free for media use, offering a compelling glimpse of what happens during a checkpoint. The footage captures real-life interactions between law enforcement officers and drivers at DUI checkpoints, highlighting the consequences of impaired driving. You can find more about these photos on the CDIOT DUI Checkpoint B-Roll Google Drive Folder by emailing [email protected].

Note: The people portrayed in the videos signed participation waivers to be included in filming.

About The Heat Is On

The Heat Is On campaign runs throughout the year, with 16 specific high-visibility impaired driving enforcement periods centered on national holidays and large public events. Enforcement periods can include sobriety checkpoints, saturation patrols and additional law enforcement on duty dedicated to impaired driving enforcement. Find more details about the campaign, including impaired driving enforcement plans, arrest totals and safety tips at More information about DUI laws in Colorado can be found at Learn more about CDOT’s dedication to keeping Colorado roads safe, including impaired driving enforcement objectives, arrest data and safety information at

Crash Not Accident

Note to reporters: Crashes are no accident — they are preventable. We would appreciate you saying 'crash' instead of 'accident' when reporting.