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Power Down When You’re In The Driver’s Seat

Did you know that cell phone use by drivers under age 18 is now illegal in Colorado? But regardless of whether it’s banned or not, texting or talking on the phone while driving is also risky business. Think about it this way: Driving is an entire mind and body experience that requires visual, manual and mental skills. When you’re distracted in your vehicle, usually more than one of these skills is compromised. For instance, if you answer a call on your phone, you take your eyes off the road to grab your cell (visual), then you take your hand off the wheel to press a button (manual), and finally you take your mind off the road to hold a conversation.

Ideas for encouraging compliance:

· Bad habits are easy to start and hard to break. Make a commitment to develop good habits from the start.

· Power down your cell phone when you get in the car—or even before you get in the car—so you won’t be tempted to answer it.

· Record an outgoing message for your voicemail stating that you may be driving at the moment so leave a message.

· If you must answer your phone, pull over to a safe location and park before using your cell phone.

· Don’t ride with anyone who isn’t putting your safety first.

· Challenge your classmates to follow the same good behaviors; create bumper stickers with you own school slogan about “powering down.”

Here’s why it’s important:

· Driving while using a cell phone reduces the amount of brain activity associated with driving by 37 percent. (Carnegie Mellon) 

· 80 percent of crashes are related to driver inattention. There are certain activities that may be more dangerous than talking on a cell phone. However, cell phone use occurs more frequently and for longer durations than other, riskier behaviors. (Virginia Tech 100-car study for NHTSA)

· Drivers that use handheld devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves. (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety) 

· Nearly 6,000 people died in 2008 in crashes involving a distracted or inattentive driver, and more than half a million were injured. (NHTSA) 

· On any given day in 2008, more than 800,000 vehicles are driven by someone using a hand-held cell phone. (National Safety Council)

A ticket for using your cell phone while driving will cost a minimum $59 fine for the first violation and $109 for a second offense. We all know there are better ways to spend your money. The call or text can wait. For more details, visit www.coteendriver.com.

