Drug Recognition Experts (DRE) Program

A Colorado Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) is a law enforcement officer trained to recognize impairment in drivers under the influence of drugs other than, or in addition to, alcohol. The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) coordinates the International Drug Evaluation and Classification (DEC) Program with support from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

The Colorado DRE program began in 1987.

As of 2015:

  • 575 Colorado law enforcement officers have completed DRE training
  • There are 212 active DREs
  • Sixty-two agencies have DREs
  • The Colorado State Patrol has the most DREs (64)

The Colorado DRE program annually recognizes a person with the "DRE of the YEAR" award.  This award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the program.

Past recipients include:

2005 Sergeant Josh Warner, Mesa County Sheriff’s Office
2006 Officer Mark Ashby, Thornton Police
2007 Technician John Blea, Denver Police
2008 Lieutenant Jim Williamson, Littleton Police
2009 Chief Brian Kozak, Avon Police
2010 Glenn Davis, Colorado Department of Transportation
2011 Trooper Jerald G. Wolff, Colorado State Patrol
2012 Sergeant Craig Simpson, Colorado Springs Police
2013 Chief Robert Ticer, Avon Police Department 
2014 Deputy Mark George, Boulder County Sheriff's Office 

Filed under: , ,
Colorado: The Official State Web Portal