Memorial Day DUI enforcement results in 232 arrests

Traffic Safety Pulse News

323 motorists cited during same enforcement period last year

As Colorado safely continues toward normalcy, CDOT, Colorado State Patrol (CSP) and local law enforcement agencies conducted a The Heat Is On high-visibility enforcement to keep state roads and highways safe during Memorial Day weekend. Law enforcement arrested 232 impaired drivers during the enforcement period from May 22-26.

More than 85 enforcement agencies participated in the heightened enforcement with increased patrols across the state.

The 232 arrests is a decrease from the 323 arrests during the same enforcement last year. Last May alone, there were 16 impairment-related fatalities on Colorado’s roads.

The legal blood-alcohol content (BAC) limit in Colorado is 0.05 percent for driving while ability impaired (DWAI) and 0.08 percent for driving under the influence (DUI). Regardless of BAC, a motorist can be arrested for impaired driving if they show any signs of impairment while driving.  First-time DUI offenders can be punished with up to one year in jail, license suspension and thousands of dollars in fines.