Travel Center

Operation TireSafe

Worn tires cannot grip the road well and can be extremely hazardous. Are your tires winter ready? Check out our tips below.

“All-Season” Isn’t Best for Every Season

When it comes to snow or ice on the ground, all-season tires simply don’t compare to winter tires. Consider investing in safety by having a set of winter tires so you’re prepared for any winter conditions that Colorado throws at you.

Tire Stopping Distance

If a Traction Law is called, your all-season tires might not make the cut. If you don’t have the proper equipment during a Traction Law, you could face fines as low as $130 or as high as $650. Learn about Colorado’s Passenger Vehicle Traction and Chain Laws here.

Check Your Tread with the Quarter Test

How do you know if you need new tires? The Quarter Test is a quick and easy way to assess if your tires meet the minimum tread depth (one-eighth inch) during a Traction Law.

  • Insert a quarter into the tire tread upside down, with Washington’s head going in first.
  • If the top of George’s head is covered by the tread, your tires are OK — do this test at multiple points around each tire.
  • If the top of his head is visible at any point around the tire, your tires won’t meet the Traction Law minimum, and you should consider new tires.

quarter test

Invest in Safety with New Tires

If the Quarter Test shows that your tread is wearing out, don’t worry — CDOT has teamed up with tire shops across the state to provide discounts on new tires.

Find your local tire discount by clicking the map below.

Tire Discount Location Map

Filed under:
Colorado: The Official State Web Portal