Front Range Passenger Rail District

The Front Range Passenger Rail District has been established as the successor organization to the Southwest Chief and Front Range Passenger Rail Commission. For current information about Front Range Passenger Rail, visit

Southwest Chief and Front Range Passenger Rail Commission logo

About the Commission

The Passenger Rail Commission (aka, the Southwest Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission) coordinates and oversees efforts by state and local governments—and cooperates with Kansas, New Mexico, Amtrak and the BNSF Railway (BNSF)—to ensure completion of track repairs and upgrades required to continue Southwest Chief Rail service in Colorado. The Commission also works to extend service to Pueblo, and is fully exploring the benefits of service extension to Walsenburg.

Additionally, the Commission facilitates the development of a Front Range Passenger Rail system, as well as legislation for rail service in and along the I-25 corridor that is a well-integrated component of a modern, efficient and cost-effective multimodal transportation system.

Voting Members



Jill Gaebler Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments
Jacob Riger Denver Regional Council of Governments
Nathan Anderson Class 1 Railroad Representative - Union Pacific Railroad
Chris Wiseman Pueblo Area Council of Governments 
Becky Karasko North Front Range Metropolitan Planning Organization
Rick Klein Resident of Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero, or Pueblo Counties
Sal Pace, Vice Chair Passenger Rail Advocate 
Jim Tylick Class 1 Railroad Representative - BNSF Railway
Phil Rico South Central Council of Governments
Jim Souby, Chair Passenger Rail Advocate 
Bill Van Meter Regional Transportation District

Non-Voting Members



Amber Blake Colorado Department of Transportation (DTR/Director)
Rob Eaton Amtrak
Dale Steenbergen Cheyenne, Wyoming, Chamber of Commerce