Transportation Commission of Colorado

Transportation Commission_10.2021.jpg

The state's transportation system is managed by the Colorado Department of Transportation under the direction of the Transportation Commission of Colorado. The commission is comprised of 11 commissioners who represent specific districts.

Each commissioner is appointed by the governor, confirmed by the senate, and serves a four-year term. To provide continuity, the commissioners' term expiration dates are staggered every two years.

Under state law, the powers and duties of the Transportation Commission of Colorado include:

  • Formulating general policy with respect to the management, construction, and maintenance of public highways and other transportation systems in the state;
  • Advising and making recommendations to the governor and the General Assembly, relative to transportation policy; and
  • Promulgating and adopting CDOT's budgets and programs, including construction priorities and approval of extensions or abandonment of the state highway system. (The General Assembly appropriates the administrative budget for the Department.)
Commission District Map
DISTRICT 1:  Denver County
DISTRICT 2: Jefferson & Broomfield (portions) Counties
DISTRICT 3: Arapahoe & Douglas Counties
DISTRICT 4: Boulder, Adams, Broomfield (portions) Counties
DISTRICT 5: Larimer, Morgan, Weld & Broomfield (portions) Counties
DISTRICT 6: Clear Creek, Gilpin, Grand, Jackson, Moffatt, Routt, & Rio Blanco Counties
DISTRICT 7: Chaffee, Delta, Eagle, Garfield, Gunnison, Lake, Mesa, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin & Summit Counties
DISTRICT 8: Alamosa, Archuleta, Conejos, Costilla, Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mineral, Montezuma, Rio Grande, Saguache, San Miguel, & San Juan Counties
DISTRICT 9: El Paso, Fremont, Park, & Teller Counties
DISTRICT 10: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Cuter, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers & Pueblo Counties
DISTRICT 11: Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln, Logan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, & Yuma Counties 

Link to Rulemaking by the Transportation Commission