Safety

National Child Passenger Safety Week Starts Sept. 14

September 9, 2014 - Written by: Corporal Heather Cobler, Colorado State Patrol, Child Passenger Safety Team Colorado - Coordinator

Now that students are back in school, you are probably already busy thinking about the safety of your school and your students. Keeping students safe is a top priority for most educational institutions. Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children ages 5 to 15. With most parents getting back into the groove of the daily drive to school, it is time for National Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Week, Sept. 14-20, and National Seat Check Saturday on Sept. 20.

CPS Team Colorado is available to help you, your schools and your teachers, and encourages you to take part in National CPS Week. A great way to get involved and support protecting your children is to contact one of Colorado’s 1,000 certified CPS technicians. Certified CPS Technicians can perform car seat and booster seat checks, educate parents, staff and students at your school’s drop-off area next week; or you can also schedule a time to visit with a CPS Technician one-on-one, or have them speak for a few minutes in your classrooms! To find a certified technician, visit www.carseatscolorado.com and click on “Find an Inspection Station.”

CPS Team Colorado is comprised of more than 1,000 nationally certified CPS technicians in the State of Colorado. These technicians are professionals from various local services such as: law enforcement, emergency services, non-profits, medical centers and many other professionals who are dedicated to protecting children from their leading cause of death.

The last time most parents and educators thought about the vehicle safety for kids was when their kids were infants or toddlers,  but tweens, who typically ditch the booster seat too early or sit in the front seat before they’re physically ready, should also catch our attention and effort. Older children are often less likely to be properly restrained than younger ones, with only 78 percent of 5 to 15 year olds properly restrained, compared to nearly 93 percent of 0 to 4 year olds, in 2013. In 2012, 80 percent of kids killed in traffic accidents were between the ages of 8 and 15 years old, and 37 percent of those were kids sitting in the vehicle’s front seat.

On our website you will also find campaign materials such as posters to hang in your halls, brochures to review and share with parents, and infographics to post on your websites and social media channels. All campaign materials are available here in the “Parents” tab.

Thank you for taking the time to review this message and focus on the safety of your students. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to call me, Cpl. Heather Cobler, Colorado State Patrol, 303-239-4537, or [email protected].

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal