Safety

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)


General FAQs

 1. What are the CDOT Regional Boundaries?

There are five (5) CDOT engineering regions as an effort to enhance customer service. To learn more about the CDOT regional boundaries and view a map of the regions, click here.

Crash Data FAQs

 1. How do I request crash data?

The crash data request process is outlined here.

Flagger FAQs

Individuals

1. How do I become a certified flagger?

In order to obtain or renew your Colorado Flagger certification, you must fulfill the following requirements:

  1. Be 18 years of age or older,
  2. Be trained by an CDOT authorized entity, and
  3. Pass a closed book examination.

2. How can I find an authorized entity to complete flagger certification training?

We have compiled and organized a list of authorized flagger training entities in a map making it easier to find training. The map is located here. You may also call 888-639-3271 to obtain a list.

3. How much does the flagger certification training cost?

The costs for flagger certification training will vary with each authorized entity. Please contact the authorized entity directly to obtain their costs for training.

4. I have a flagger certification from another state. Can I use this certification in Colorado?

You are allowed to the flagger certification from another state if your certification meets one of the following requirements:

However, it is highly recommended that you obtain a Colorado flagger certification.

Entities

 1. I have submitted all the application requirements requesting approval to be listed as authorized flagger training entity. When will I hear back?

It can take up to 45 days to review your application and provide a decision. If we need additional information, we will contact you.

2. How does my entity obtain a proctor?

Your entity must be registered with the Colorado Secretary of State to apply for proctorship. You will appoint your proctor(s) when submitting the application request to be an authorized flagger certification trainer. If you need to update your proctor(s), you may do so by submitting an Entity Change Form.

3. Are there specific requirements and/or information that must be covered during a flagger certification training session?

Yes, all flagger certification training courses shall:

  • Review the Flagger Training Manual,
  • Provide practical training and practice questions,
  • Present the CDOT Flagger Training Video, and 
  • Adminster a closed book written test.

4. How do I obtain training materials, examinations, and certification cards? What are the costs?

You could download CDOT's training materials from the CDOT Flagger Program web page free of charge. Other supporting material cannot be purchased through CDOT and the costs may vary.

Examinations and certification cards will be mailed out with the approval to be an authorized flagger certification training entity. If you need additional copies of the examinations and/or certification cards, please contact us.

Safety Programs FAQs

Federal Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)

Click here for HSIP Questions and Answers from the FHWA website.

 1. How much HSIP funding does Colorado receive annually?

Colorado receives approximately $30 million each federal fiscal year under the FAST Act.

 2. How much HSIP funding is allocated towards off system (non-state highways)?

Approximately half of all crashes in Colorado occur off-system. Based on this, half of Colorado's apportionment is reserved for local agencies to use on their public roads (approximately $15 million).

3. How is HSIP distributed by CDOT Region?

The distribution is based on the proportion of crashes that have occurred in each CDOT Region. The approximate distribution is listed below:

  • Region 1: 52.9%
  • Region 2: 16.9%
  • Region 3: 9.3%
  • Region 4: 17.2%
  • Region 5: 3.7%

4. What is the minimum limit for requested amount for HSIP funding?

$150,000 is the preferred minimum.  However, local agencies can package a grouping of similar low cost safety improvements (i.e. systemic improvements) into a single project that meets this threshold.  This minimum limit does not necessarily apply to non-infrastructure projects.

5. Is there a maximum limit for a requested amount of HSIP funding?

There is no maximum request limit, although there are limited funds and each local agency within each Region competes against each other for that funding (based on the projected benefit over cost ratio). As your request increases, the chances for being awarded those funds decreases. The benefit to cost ratio is calculated using the entire cost of the project, not just the amount requested. Given these parameters, the program would favor low cost safety improvements over more significant infrastructure projects.

6. Can HSIP funding be used for the design phase of a project?

Yes, just include the design cost in the application in addition to the construction costs.


Colorado: The Official State Web Portal