CDOT Announces New Region 5 Transportation Director

August 24, 2011 - Southwestern Colorado/CDOT Region 5 - SOUTHWEST COLORADO – The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) has named Kerrie Neet as the new regional transportation director (RTD) for Region 5, southwestern and south-central Colorado.

She will begin her new position on September 1 and replaces former RTD Richard Reynolds, who retired from CDOT in June after 13 years in the position.

Neet joined CDOT in 2002 as the Region 5 planning and environmental manager, a position she has held since that time. She previously worked as Mining and Minerals bureau chief in the Energy, Minerals and Natural Resource Department for the state of New Mexico. Prior to that, she was a hydrogeologist and Superfund program manager in the New Mexico Environment Department. She has also worked in environmental consulting and for a water utility in Phoenix, AZ.

“With Kerrie’s nine years at CDOT, she has extensive knowledge of the region’s transportation needs and key issues,” CDOT Chief Engineer Tim Harris said.  “She also has exceptional leadership qualities and a demonstrated ability to forge positive and productive working relationships. She’ll continue to work well with region staff and the communities she represents to get the job done.”

In her new position, Neet will oversee transportation operations throughout Region 5, which includes 15 counties, three Transportation Planning Regions and two Tribal Nations.

“I feel fortunate to live and work in this part of the state, representing CDOT in our central and southwest communities,” Neet said. “I am very excited about this opportunity and hope to bring to my new position a focus on community partnerships and a coordinated approach to the way we plan for, build and maintain our transportation system in this area.”

Neet holds a Bachelor’s degree in geology from Ohio State University and a Master’s in geology from Arizona State University.

*Region 5 includes the counties of: Alamosa, Archuleta, Conejos, Costilla, Dolores, La Plata, Mineral, Montezuma, Montrose (southern half), Ouray, Rio Grande, Saguache, Chaffee, San Juan and San Miguel.