State Transportation Commission Elects New Chairman - Steve Parker of Durango

September 13, 2011 - Statewide Transportation Plan - STATEWIDE - The Colorado Transportation Commission recently elected Steve Parker, of Durango, as its new chairman.

Parker represents the 13 counties that make up Commission District Eight, including Alamosa, Archuleta, Conejos, Costilla, Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mineral, Montezuma, Rio Grande, San Juan, San Miguel and Saguache.  Parker succeeds Les Gruen as the chairman of the State Transportation Commission.

“Federal funding for transportation is uncertain right now, and I’m concerned that if Congress fails to provide adequate funding for the longer term, the state is going to bear this burden. It’s difficult to plan effectively for transportation when we don’t know what’s headed our way,” Commissioner Parker said. “If the USDOT would streamline federal processes, rules and regulations, that would allow us to use our limited funds more efficiently to meet our local and statewide needs. Given the bleak outlook for federal funding, I believe it’s going to take a full partnership with the business community, as well as our local government customers, to be able to build the transportation system that will keep our local businesses viable and communities economically healthy.”

Parker, who began his term with the Transportation Commission in 2001, served as chairman in 2004. He will serve a one-year term as chairman, through August 2012.

Parker is a career-banking executive and is on the Board of Directors for Alpine Bank in Durango. He and his wife, Dr. Geni Miller, live in Durango and are avid cyclists.

The Transportation Commission, statutorily authorized, consists of 11 commissioners representing specific districts. The Commission sets policy and makes funding allocation decisions for CDOT’s annual budget.  The 11 commissioners are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Colorado Senate.