10 Northeast Colorado projects awarded through Transportation Alternatives Program

November 8, 2016 - Northeastern Colorado/CDOT Region 4 - The Colorado Department of Transportation announced that 10 projects in Northeast Colorado were awarded funding through the Transportation Alternatives Program which totals $5.7 million over three years.

The projects selected include:

  • City of Boulder – 19th St Multimodal Improvements

  • City of Fort Collins- Power Trail Grade Separation at Harmony Road

  • City of Lafayette- South Boulder Road Multimodal Improvements Project

  • Town of Kersey – Centennial Bicycle / Pedestrian Trail

  • Larimer County-  US287 Gaps Bicycle / Pedestrian Project

  • Lincoln County -  Hugo Roundhouse Restoration

  • City of Loveland – Namaqua Bicycle / Pedestrian Trail Underpass

  • Town of Milliken- West Alice & Inez Boulevard Pedestrian Improvements

  • City of Sterling – East Chestnut  Bicycle / Pedestrian Trail

  • Weld County- Cache La Poudre Trail Flood Damage Repair

The Northeast region for CDOT received strong applications that were scored and ranked independently by a five-member panel.

If the region receives more than the $5.7 million in federal funding, or a selected project cannot proceed when scheduled, then those funds will be re-programmed to the next project(s) in the rank.

Federal funds are allocated under TAP to transportation projects that expand travel choice, strengthen the local economy, improve quality of life and protect the environment. Many TAP projects enhance non-motorized forms of transportation like bicycling and walking. TAP was authorized in 2012 by federal transportation legislation, Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21), and is now continued under the current federal transportation legislation, Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act (FAST).

What types of projects are eligible for TAP funding?

TAP provides funding for projects defined as transportation alternatives, including on- and off-road pedestrian and bicycle facilities, infrastructure projects for improving non-driver access to public transportation and enhanced mobility, community improvement activities, and environmental mitigation; recreational trail program projects; and projects for planning, designing, or constructing boulevards and other roadways largely in the right-of-way of former Interstate System routes or other divided highways.

Who is eligible to apply?

  • Local governments

  • Regional transportation authorities

  • Transit agencies

  • Natural resource or public land agencies

  • School districts, local education agencies, or schools

  • Tribal governments

  • Any other local or regional governmental entity with responsibility for oversight of transportation or recreational trails (other than a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) or State DOT) that the State determines to be eligible

For information on travel conditions, visit COTrip.org, sign up for GovDelivery or call 511. Updates are also available via Twitter @coloradodot and CDOT’s Facebook page at Facebook.com/coloradodot