Automated Weather Observing System (AWOS) Program

During its 2000 session, the Colorado General Assembly acknowledged the need for improved aviation weather reporting in the mountainous terrain along the Continental Divide. With shared funding from the Legislature and the Colorado Aviation Fund, twelve Automated Weather Observing System (AWOS) sites were installed. These were sited at those critical mountain passes most vulnerable to weather-dependent aircraft accidents.


VIDEO: The video below was produced by the Colorado Division of Aeronautics and documents the many obstacles Colorado's Communications Technicians face with the task of repairing and maintaining our network of mountain automated weather observation systems. The Colorado Division of Aeronautics would like to pay special thanks to the technicians with the Governor's Office of Information Technology who work extremely hard to keep accurate mountain weather informations flowing out to the public.

Icons_Check30 Bald Mountain AWOS (7BM) *Near Cottonwood Pass

Icons_Check30 Berthoud Pass - Mines Peak AWOS (0CO)

Icons_Check30 Copper Mountain AWOS (CCU) 

Icons_Check30 Dakota Hill AWOS (C99) *Near Rollins Pass 

Icons_Check30 Kremmling-McElroy Field AWOS (20V)

Icons_Check30 La Veta Pass AWOS (VTP) 

Icons_Check30 Monarch Pass AWOS (MYP) 

Icons_Check30 Monument Hill - Kelly Air Park AWOS (MNH) 

Icons_Check30Walton Peak AWOS (C07)

Icons_Check30 Saguache Municipal Airport AWOS (04V)

Icons_Check30 Sunlight Mountain AWOS (5SM)

Icons_Check30 Wilkerson Pass AWOS (4BM)

OTS Wolf Creek Pass AWOS (CPW) 

Airport AWOS

Akron-Colorado Plains Regional Airport (AKO) Holyoke Municipal Airport (HEQ)
Alamosa-San Luis Valley Regional Airport (ALS) Kremmling-McElroy Field (20V)
Aspen-Pitkin County Airport (ASE) La Junta Municipal Airport (LHX)
Boulder Municipal Airport (BDU) Lamar Municipal Airport (LAA)
Buena Vista-Central Colorado Regional Airport (AEJ) Leadville-Lake County Airport (LXV)
Burlington-Kit Carson County Airport (ITR) Limon Municipal Airport (LIC)
Canon City-Fremont County Airport (1V6) Longmont-Vance Brand Municipal Airport (LMO)
Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (COS) Loveland-Ft. Collins Municipal Airport (FNL)
Cortez-Montezuma County Airport (CEZ) Meeker Airport (EEO)
Craig-Moffat County Airport (CAG) Montrose Regional Airport (MTJ)
Del Norte (RCV) Nucla-Hopkins Field (AIB)
Delta-Blake Field (AJZ) Pagosa Springs-Stevens Field (PSO)
Denver-Centennial Airport (APA) Pueblo Memorial Airport (PUB)
Denver International Airport (DEN) Rangely Airport (4V0)
Denver-Colorado Air & Space Port (CFO) Rifle-Garfield County Regional Airport (RIL)
Denver-Rocky Mountain Metropolitan Airport (BJC) Saguache Municipal Airport (04V)
Durango-La Plata County Airport (DRO) Salida-Harriet Alexander Airport (ANK)
Eagle County Regional Airport (EGE) Steamboat Springs-Bob Adams Field (SBS)
Erie Municipal Airport (EIK) Sterling Municipal Airport (STK)
Fort Morgan Municipal Airport (FMM) Telluride Regional Airport (TEX)
Granby-Grand County Airport (GNB) Trinidad-Perry Stokes Airport (TAD)
Grand Junction Regional Airport (GJT) Walden-Jackson County Airport (33V)
Greeley-Weld County Airport (GXY) Walsenburg-Spanish Peaks Airfield (4V1)
Gunnison-Crested Butte Regional Airport (GUC) Wray Municipal Airport (2V5)
Hayden-Yampa Valley Regional Airport (HDN) Yuma Municipal Airport (2V6)