Programs

Construction Inspector Certification Program

This program was created by CDOT in 2004 to develop a qualified inspection staff in order to obtain a higher-quality end product on the highway.

There are three categories of inspection training that have been developed:

  • basic highway math
  • basic construction surveying
  • basic highway plan reading

All construction inspectors—whether from CDOT or a consultant—must demonstrate proficiency by passing an exam and earning certification within the developed categories. CDOT has developed self-study manuals for four of the entry-level certification courses. 

The cost for each test is $25, payable by credit card (via PayPal) ONLY. Confirmation email must be provided to the examiner the day of the exam to be eligible to take the test(s).
PLEASE NOTE: CASH AND CHECKS WILL NO LONGER BE ALLOWED AS PAYMENT.

This is class is free for CDOT employees. Simply provide your Cost Center when registering.

Resources

Test Dates

All sessions are at CDOT Headquarters, 2829 W. Howard Pl., Denver 80204 unless otherwise noted.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020 (Replaces April 13, 2020) Monday, July 13, 2020 Tuesday, July 14, 2020 (Replaces April 28, 2020)
Monday, July 20, 2020 (Replaces May 11, 2020) Monday, August 10, 2020 Monday, September 14, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020 Monday, November 9, 2020  Monday, December 14, 2020

2021 Schedule

Monday, January 11, 2021 Monday, February 8, 2021 Monday, March 8, 2021
Monday, April 12, 2021 Monday, May 10, 2021 Monday, June 14, 2021
Monday, July 12, 2021 Monday, August 9, 2021 Monday, September 13, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 Monday, November 8, 2021 Monday, December 12, 2021
Colorado: The Official State Web Portal