Programs

Construction Inspector Certification Program

This program was created by CDOT in 2004 to develop a qualified inspection staff in order to obtain a higher-quality end product on the highway.

There are three categories of inspection training that have been developed:

  • basic highway math
  • basic construction surveying
  • basic highway plan reading

All construction inspectors—whether from CDOT or a consultant—must demonstrate proficiency by passing an exam and earning certification within the developed categories. CDOT has developed self-study manuals for four of the entry-level certification courses. 

The cost for each test is $25, payable by check ONLY. Fees must be paid to the examiner the day of the exam to be eligible to take the test(s).

Resources

Test Dates

2017-2018 Test Dates

All sessions are at CDOT Headquarters, 4201 E. Arkansas Ave., Denver 80203

Monday, Aug. 14, 2017 Monday, Sept. 11, 2017 Monday, Oct. 16, 2017
Monday, Nov. 13, 2017 Monday, Dec. 4, 2017 Monday, Jan. 8, 2018
Monday, Feb. 12, 2018 Monday, March 12, 2018 Monday, April 9, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018 Monday, June 11, 2018
Swipe table to see more content
Colorado: The Official State Web Portal