Programs

Construction Inspector Certification Program

This program was created by CDOT in 2004 to develop a qualified inspection staff in order to obtain a higher-quality end product on the highway.

There are three categories of inspection training that have been developed:

  • basic highway math
  • basic construction surveying
  • basic highway plan reading

All construction inspectors—whether from CDOT or a consultant—must demonstrate proficiency by passing an exam and earning certification within the developed categories. CDOT has developed self-study manuals for four of the entry-level certification courses. 

The cost for each test is $25, payable by credit card (via PayPal) ONLY. Confirmation email must be provided to the examiner the day of the exam to be eligible to take the test(s).
PLEASE NOTE: CASH AND CHECKS WILL NO LONGER BE ALLOWED AS PAYMENT.

This is class is free for CDOT employees. Simply provide your Cost Center when registering.

Resources

Test Dates

Test Dates

All sessions are at CDOT Headquarters, 2829 W. Howard Pl., Denver 80204 unless otherwise noted.

Monday, Jan. 13, 2020
Monday, Feb. 10, 2020 Monday, March 9, 2020 Monday, April 13, 2020 - CANCELLED
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 (Grand Junction) - CANCELLED Monday, May 11, 2020CANCELLED Monday, June 8, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020 Monday, August 10, 2020  
     
FALL 2020: Monday, September 14, 2020 Monday, October 5, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020 Monday, December 14, 2020
Colorado: The Official State Web Portal